We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good home cookin style food!”

John Geaghan Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #9 of 181 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good home cookin style food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Love Geaghans! Always have always will, a staple in Bangor. And the beer is very good as well. Great job as always to the Geaghans crew!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrance f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    92
    36
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Neighborhood Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Spent a few days in Bangor and had the pleasure of going here for a beer and some food. Beer was great and they have a large selection. Food was good typical pub food. All around I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belockay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Late Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The food, value, beer and the service are all first rate. They serve late which makes it a great end to an evening performance at the Penobscot Theater.
A mostly American, "Bar Fare" menu offers enough variety for everyone. The wings are generally accepted to be among the best, if not THE best in the area. They also serve a great hamburger cooked to whatever temperature you prefer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“late night dinner after IL Divo concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Food was delicious and priced economically. They served us late as it was 10pm on a Friday night. We were attended to by a caring young man who took the time to explain Irish Fare. We were comfortable and felt welcome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler54Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
467 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Irish Red Ale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I love a good Irish Red Ale, and the glass I had here was one of the best I have tasted, smooth and full of flavour!
The food was equally delicious. I had their Cajun steak sandwich. This is a steak served on a piece of toast with fries & coke slaw. I don't quite know why you need to put the steak on toast, but it was good. Although it is called 'Cajun', don't be scared off; it is not too spicy, just a hint of extra flavour. It is a thin steak, so my 'medium rare' was closer to 'medium', so you might want to consider notching your order down a bit. My wife had a tuna melt which she reports was excellent, and my mother in law had a club sandwich, which was fresh and delicious, served on a bun rather than bread.

But . . Try the red ale, I like it so much, that a growler left the pub with me to be enjoyed watching the NASCAR race on Sunday.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Geaghan Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to John Geaghan Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing