We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place in the world to have lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montes International Catering and Gourmet Cafe' - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Montes International Catering and Gourmet Cafe'
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Description: International and ethnic cuisine
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the world to have lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

They have amazing ice tea and curry chicken salad...and everything else too for that matter!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaineTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than eating at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Montes offers excellent, freshly prepared food at reasonable prices. The menu varies, both seasonally and based on international themes. The salads are outstanding. Private event meals can be arranged, and Montes also offers catering. I have always found the staff welcoming and very accommodating. I have an extensive cookbook collection, love to cook, and would rather eat at home than endure a mediocre restaurant meal. Montes has always met or exceeded my culinary standards.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mhvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The food, from start to finish, is spectacular. Wonderful ambiance and meals that you won't find anywhere else. You would be crazy to miss this place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigDaveOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A surprising discovery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We couldn't believe our good fortune when we were recently introduced to Montes by the staff at the wine shop just around the corner. What a surprising discovery! (How have we lived in the Bangor area over ten years and not have known about this place???) It was very busy with an obviously devoted lunchtime clientele when we were there, but somehow everyone was served efficiently and with a smile. The menu is amazingly creative, and everything is freshly prepared. For a small establishment, we wondered how they managed (without sacrificing quality) to serve such a large variety of items including salads, sandwiches, wraps, quesadillas, fajitas, even a few specialty pizzas. They also offer gourmet dinners to go (after 3 p.m. M-F) such as grilled beef tenderloin with portabella mushroom sauce or apple-stuffed chicken breast with sage cream sauce. Can't help but wish this little unpretentious cafe were open for dinner or on weekends, but since its main business is catering, we certainly understand their priorities.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Freshly prepaired food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I am a regular. This restaurant should be #2, or #3 in Bangor - salads, sandwiches, wraps, deserts - it's all very good, a notch above mostly all other Bangor restaurants. Absolutely perfect for lunch!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montes International Catering and Gourmet Cafe' also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing