We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Walk”

Mount Hope Garden Cemetery
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Walk”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We walk here frequently and bring the grandchildren to see the turtles and frogs. It is well maintained and the walk always reveals something interesting!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
428 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of American history”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This cemetery is the second oldest in the US so many parts are filled with grave markers from the 1800's. Beyond the age of the cemetery the other interesting aspect is the variety of sizes and shapes of markers - everything from common headstones to crypts, statues and spires.

Of historical note - Susan B Anthony and Fredrick Douglas are buried here.
Of movie note - several scenes from Pet Semetery were filmed here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
419 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very impressive!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I visited this site after reading about it in the latest Moon travel guide for Maine. We were interested in the unique fort honoring Maine residents who fought in the Civil War, but we were overwhelmed by the gorgeous hills, stone steps and impressive above-ground monuments and mausoleums in the cemetery. We were awed by the majesty of this peaceful place, which affords the proper respect to those entombed there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Volcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nature filled oasis”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A wonderful place for walks. Stroll along the string of ponds and search for muskrats, frogs, turtles and more. Dozens of bird and animal species make their homes in this area; we've seen bluebirds, foxes, eagles and much more. There are historical treasures as well, gravestones of famous folk, war memorials, an old bus station. A delightful place for a walk, often shady. No dogs are allowed. A crematorium is also located on the grounds; because I'm sensitive to smells I prefer early walks, Sunday walks or parking by the Korean Memorial.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mainetaxmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,618 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“A Field Trip for Every Child”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Mount Hope Garden Cemetery is not only a sculptured final place of rest in a wonderful garden setting, it is a place of history. It includes the first memorial built in the US to honor Civil War dead. It houses Hannibal Hamlin, Lincoln's vice president. It includes a beautiful memorial to those who died and are MIA in the Korean War. It also has a wonderful memorial to the First Maine who saw action in the Civil War. Each of these contain a history lesson. Hint: Stop at the Superintendent's Office on your left as you enter past the Second Maine Memorial and pick up a "walking Tour" guide that describes the different points of interest. Most can be arrived at by vehicle as well. Also, if you have an elderly parent, take them on this journey for if they have served in the military, they will be very impressed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Hope Garden Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hope Garden Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing