We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and we'll be back”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were pleasantly greeted by the gentleman at the front desk. He was very helpful and showed us around the motel, Geaghan's Pub (great food, loved the cherry cheesecake), 24 hour coffee station and continental breakfast. I must say their Tempur-Pedic beds are so comfortable. I had a great sleep. Room also had a coffee machine in the room, small fridge, etc... and less than 15 minutes from Bangor Mall. I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend the Fireside Inn in Bangor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    38
    8
    11
See reviews for
32
46
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
farmington, maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

it was my first time in bangor to see a concert.
i reserved a room with a king size bed, and microwave/mini fridge.
what i got was a spacious room that also included a (gas) fireplace, and a hi-tech massage recliner chair. WOW!
it was hot out and the AC delivered cool air without any problems. it was the modern, digital kind you can program the temp you want.
staff was friendly and helpful.
basic continental breakfast (no dining area, you take it back to your room)
it's right across the road from hollywood slots.
a 5 minute walk to the waterfront concert pavillion. (and shaws supermarket, McD's, dunkins)
10 minute walk to the greyhound station.
i would stay there again anytime i'm in bangor!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are in the middle of Bangor's emtertainment district and we are glad you found us. I am also very proud of our staff for their hard work. We are honored to be your host while in Bangor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed there for one night at the end of August 2011 to attend a Waterfront Concert (Bob Dylan). The hotel was very convenient cause it was an easy walk to the venue (15 minutes maximum at slow pace) and parking was available for free.

Check in went like a charm and I was welcomed with two cookies, which was nice. The man and woman at front desk were very friendly, describing every amenities the hotel had to offer (complimentary coffee and newspaper) and answering all my questions politely and accurately. Check out was no problem either.

The room was fine, two queen beds, mini-fridge and microwave, air conditioner, flat TV. Nothing fancy but had everything I needed. I was afraid of finding pets hair everywhere or feeling the smell of pets (the hotel is pet-friendly) but there were absolutely no trace of any of that and everything was clean and in order. My room was also non-smoking and very quiet (on the second floor).

The Irish pub connected to the hotel was great, good food and most of all, good beer. The hotel rate also included a breakfast in a small room where you had to bring back stuff to your room. The area was really small (could not eat there) but there were quite a few things to choose from: toasts, bagels, pastries, doughnuts, cereals, milk, orange juice, coffee. Nothing fancy (no cheese or fruits) but more than OK for me.

Without a doubt, the best thing about this hotel were their beds... there were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! I'm even thinking about purchasing that exact same bed for myself at home! (somebody can describe me what kind of bed they are exactly?). I slept like a baby and was in a top shape the next morning!

Now the cons? Nothing much... might only be the price... I paid 135$/night. I think it's just a bit expensive for a clean room but not much more. Those wanting a romantic getaway, this hotel is definitely not the place. However, It looks like there are only two hotels in this area, the other one being the Hollywood Slots Hotel next door which had rooms starting at 199$/night. I would rather stay at the Fireside. By the way, the casino is nothing to write home about, just slots, no tables.

In all fairness, I would give this hotel a 4.5.... but since I can't, I'm giving it 5 cause the only con for me was that it was just a little bit too expensive... but since I knew that from the start... and that this hotel exceeded my expectations, it deserves a 5! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a room in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatanicSurferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thanks for your constructive comments. They are always appreciated, good and not so good. Our beds have been a hit ever since we purchased them. They are Temper Pedic and we have received many good comments on them. Thanks for your many kind words. Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Rooms are a bit dated but clean and neat. The TempurPedic Beds are GREAT!!! Great Restaurant and Pub. Best wings in Bangor. The location is perfect, next door to Hollywood Slots and the Bangor Fair grounds across the street

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webster_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for your response! Yes, we a little bit older but improving the product all the time with things like Tempur-Pedic beds and bigger flat panel tv's. Geaghan's Pub does have great wings and they just started construction on their own brewery. Micro-brews by the end of the year!!! Hope to see you again soon! Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed at Fireside Inn for a few nights at the end of April (2011); perfect location for us as we went to the riverfront concert (Avalanche Tour) on the Saturday night. Concert grounds were just a 5-10 minute walk from Fireside Inn.
The hotel itself is adequate; not flashy or fancy looking like the casino across the street seems to be. But the room rate was quite reasonable, and it's a fairly clean spot. Yes the bathrooms could use some modernizing, and even a small flat-screen TV would be nice, but who needs that at a brief stay -- at least there was a mini-fridge to throw a few pre-concert beer into, and there's an irish-american pub downstairs which we unfortunately never got the time to check out.
Might rate shop next time we're in Bangor, but it was nice to be able to walk to and from the concert rather than pay big bucks for cab fares.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoHuskyDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We love being in the heart of the Bangor entertainment district with the Waterfront Concerts. Hollywood Slots, the Auditorium and the Harness Race Track all within walking distance. Thanks for enjoying our City and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Perfectly located in Bangor, right across the street from the Bangor Auditorium and Hollywood Slots Casino. My room had a king bed and fireplace. I had to spend one day in the room due to in climate weather and it was very relaxing. With Geaghans & Restaurant & Pub on property (excellent by the way), I didn't even need to go anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HennDogg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
It is great to hear from our guests! Thank you for your very kind words. Hope to meet you on your next visit to Bangor. Check out our Waterfront Concert series this summer. We are within walking distance to the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We had a great stay here. Easy access to main access routes, quick check in, quiet and clean room. What more could you ask for? We were staying one night to shop and visit family elsewhere the next day. Do yourself a favor and have a beer in Geaghan's pub (connects to the lobby). Great pub food, good price and great beer. They even have their own red ale which was very good. We would stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonctonGal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thanks for your review. We are improving our hotel everyday. The foundation has been poured for the brewery so we can brew our own special beers. Geaghans Irish Pub is defiantely an asset. Hope to see you soon. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#21 of 26 in Bangor
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Address: 570 Main St, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401-6821
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing