We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We went to visit our son last week and stayed at the FIreside Inn. We had a great stay as always. This time we had a big screen TV. The mattress was Temperpedic. So close to the casino and to our favorite restaurant. Can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to update the facility and hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    41
    38
    8
    11
See reviews for
30
46
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

we stayed here on new years eve this year so we would be close to the casino, where we wanted to go for their party. The location is extremely convenient we were able to walk to the casino, so no one had to drive. Also when we came back and were ready for bed, it was quiet. The walls are thick enough so you arent hearing everyone else in the building. The staff at the front dest was friendly as well. Now with that all said. I was surprised when we walked in the room just how small the bathroom area was. I havent been in a hotel room with a bathroom that small ever, and Ive been in some pretty small rooms. Also when I went to take a shower the curtain would not stay put. I spent most of my time in the shower fighting to keep the curtain off me. There was also hair in the shower, on the light switch and on the trim around the bathroom door. We brought beverages to have & when I went to put them in the fridge, it was literally full of food....OLD food. That was disgusting. I cleaned that out myself. I think they need to educate the housekeeping staff on what and how to clean. Our bed was ok, Ive slept on worse, but it was not a tempurpedic, and I know not all of them are, but I was part of a group of 4 couples and we were the only ones who did not get a tempurpedic. we also did not get a fireplace, but were charged the same as our friends who did get the tempurpedic and fireplace. My last observance, and this is a small one....we didnt get our whoopie pies....and they had a whole basket of them sitting behind them which they gave to the people ahead of us and after us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishN67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TrishN67,

Thank-you for staying with us, I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your stay. After looking into the issues mentioned in your review we found that the quality problems were coming from one individual employee. That person no longer works here and our current housekeeping staff ALL shares the same high standards of quality cleanliness. I apologize for your experience with us. I hope that you will give us a second chance so that we may ensure your satisfaction and prove that our standards are to go above and beyond for all guest. Thank-you for your review and again I hope you allow us to make up for your previous experience.


-Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

My wife and siters in law werenin Bangor for Black Friday. this hotel was the perfect spot for us. The room was celan and the sixe reasonable. Very comfy bed. Well situated. Saffs freindly. Breakfeat is very basic, but they do have coffee at all time. The price was very reasonable. We will be going back.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if mobilty issues, ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cla1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to update the facility and hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel itself is old and outdated, however the rooms are very comfortable. We had two queen bed, it they had the memory foam matteress so comfortable. Our room had an electric fireplace. It's a little noisy, you can hear alot of what is happening in hallways. Location is great, right off highway and by the beside casino. We didnt get a chance to go there, but heard good things.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words as much as you appreciated the Tempurpedic bed, both are very soothing.
We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I spent Oct. 21 and 22 at the Fireside and we couldn't have been happier nor asked for anything more. it was our second visit after staying there in March and with the help of the day manager we were able to reserve a room with an electric fireplace and extremely comfortable king-sized bed with five or six comfy pillows. Beside the bed was a large therapeutic chair capable of the most satisfying of body massages. Not bad for less than 70 dollars American following a promotional advertisement on our local radio station's website. Oh,,,and did I mention the room also featured a big screen tv, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and ironing board if needed. The motel also has a washer and dryer and a sporty Irish pub-restaurant named Geaghan's. And sits directly across the street from Paul Bunyan himself, standing in front of the Auditorium. And if that's not enough, adjacent to the property is the Hollywood Slots and Casino. yeah,,,,I think we will stay there again if they will have us.

Room Tip: Ask for fireplace during the colder months
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torrebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
You are definitetly welcome here anytime. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a positive review. Hopr we see you again soon. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed three nights, the beds are wicked comfortable, small bathrooms, old / outdated room but location is fine with plenty of places to eat, also the pub is fantastic. Would stay again, nothing special but worked out for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v1960t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
We are glad that you liked the Tempurpedic bed and our nearby restaurant and shopping options. Bangor is small, but has a lot to offer. Most everyone agrees with your assessment of Geaghan's Pub--it really is fantastic. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presque Isle, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

looked good online but its very old and not well kept!! there were ice buckets in the hall to catch roof leaks.. the hall was dirty! The room was clean but on the verge of not clean. What i mean is the bed was clean the housekeeper cleans but just surface..if you close the bathroom door theres a half inch of dust...all the corners are dust and webs. the rooms are old and need updates..trim is mildewed and cracked. the bedspread was clean but OOOOLD! the walls are plasre that is cracked and chipped then painted over...the ceiling was drop tile with stains from water damage. bathroom was clean but the tub was all chipped and the wallpaper was peeling and moldy!!! there was airport noise and highway noise. not to mention walls like paper and every toilet flush was loud. Im really not hard to please i swear!!! this place skeeved me out. i would have left but it was clean and i was so tired. My husband said the same thing...its on the verge of not ok but it will do this once..but never again!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on teh south side of the building....didnt know it was right near the airport...my fault f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tunare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
I am truly sorry your stay with us was so disappointing. We strive to please every guest and to provide every guest with an enjoyable experience. We clearly failed you and fell far short of your expectations.
We are constantly upgrading our rooms and your description of your room's location makes me think you were in one of our fireplace rooms (the latest rooms to be refurbished). I mention that only to underscore our efforts to improve our facility.
The leaking roof has been addressed, but we understand that seeing such a thing can be worrisome and make you question our efforts.
Again, please accept my apology for the substandard experience you had here. Thank you for your comments, they will make us try harder and trying harder will make us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bangor
Residence Inn Bangor
#7 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
1.8 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Address: 570 Main Street, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing