We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location ... next to Hollywood Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I took an overnight get away and stayed here.
The location next to the casino was.
We have stayed right at the casino before and although those rooms are newer and nicer...I thought that this hotel was just fine.
The rooms were nicely decorated.
The lobby was small, the breakfast room was small and the variety of food offered in the continental breakfast was minimal but adequate. The whoopie pie at the desk that was offered was fun and an innovative idea.
The hallways were a bit dingy and smelled a bit of smoke, but the room was clean.
The bed was comfortable and there was a gas fireplace in our room.
That was a very nice touch...romantic!
There were k-cups for coffee.
Plenty of towels and hot water for showers.
Fridge and microwave in the room.
The chair and table in the room were not desk-like not conducive for doing work ... but, this overnight was not for work--so, that was fine with me.
Jane at the front desk went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.
:-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again. We work hard at making every guest experience a good one and positive feedback is great. Again, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here on our travel back from New Brunswick and then to Portland for our flight home to Houston. rooms were nice, comfortable beds, clean and we were greeted at the front desk with whoppie pies...nice touch, Great Irish bar downstairs that is popular with guests and locals. Bartender was very nice and did a great job, We did venture off to the casino next door, had 5dollar coupons from hotel and on the second spin on quarter slots hubby won 245 bucks. nice at it payed for our stay and drinks...well worth it...very impressed but the hotel is a bit dated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very happy that your stay was a good one--whoopie pies and winning money is a combination that is hard to beat. We sincerely hope that if you are ever come back this way you come and see us. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel is located next to the casino and a walk away from the pavilion. There is a fine irish pub within the hotel, offering basic pub food and a yummy breakfast. The rooms are clean. I would like to see an upgrade of the a/c system, that was loud, and a screen on the sliding door, so we could of had fresh air.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the Bangor waterfront to enjoy a concert by just taking a short stroll from your hotel room. The concerts are getting bigger and better each year and parking can be a hassle. A/C's have a way of telling us it time to replace them. I think your A/C was talking to us--it's probably been replaced by now. Thanks again for taking the time to review us--hope we see you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We'd stay here again. The rooms are spacious, have a small fridge, table and a couple chairs. The staff is friendly and the attached Irish pub is quite good. I was impressed with the steady take-out business they did, as well as local patrons attending. But, back to the motel, because the motel we stayed in before was so small we paid $20 more for this one on our return trip. It was money well spent.

The pluses: room size, free internet, good flat screen TV, decent sized bathroom with high shower head, location (proximity to highway & downtown Bangor), free newspaper delivered to your room. You can hear people in the hallway, but NOT in the adjoining rooms. Pets allowed for $10. Excellent restaurant/pub attached. If you like casinos there is one directly across the street.

No negatives, really, but here's my two cents: The motel is not new, which is not an issue for me since it is well maintained. The beds and pillows are foam, which most people like but are not my favorite. Keep in mind the "continental" breakfast translates into the usual packaged sticky buns, cereal, apples, and weak coffee. The two chairs in the room are too low to comfortably do laptop work on the small table.

Bottom line: We had a good stay, felt like it was worth what we paid, and will stay there again.

Room Tip: It may have a pool and fitness center, but we arrived late and left early so I did not have a chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Special_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Traveling is always an adventure. Some times you find hotels and restaurants that leave a lot to desire and some times you score. Now that you know about us, we hope you visit us on your next trip to Bangor. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I recently stayed in Bangor for 3 nights on a business trip, and let me tell you... I loved this place! The bed was really comfy, bathroom was clean, and the lady at the desk was really nice. To top it all off, I walked across the street to the hotel, and down the road to the Mayhem Concert Tour! I had a great time :) The only thing that would make this property any better is if they had a pool! Thank you again, see you next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HakunaMatata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I am very happy we had a part in making your trip to Bangor memorable. I can't promise a pool, but I can promise we'll keep providing all those other elements you enjoyed. Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We picked this motel because we wanted to be able to walk to the casino. It was not fancy, but clean and had a nice pub style restaurant attached to it. Great scallops! The bed was comfortable and we liked the Keurig machine. Staff was friendly. No problems with our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygalontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

A problem free stay is a travelers dream and our goal. I'm glad we came through for you and hope we can do it again. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great service! Non-smoking room was clean,quiet and spacious. Enjoyed our first sleep on at "Tempurpedic" bed! Lots of choices in pillows for just the right fit. And the in-room "Kuerig" coffee selections were an added bonus. The restaurant served very yummy, perfectly cooked scallops. Would stay again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with good service that will leave them smiling. Come back as often as you can, we really appreciate you patronage and thank you for giving us a positive write up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.2 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Address: 570 Main St, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401-6821
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing