We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, good breakfast, wounderful beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice place, good breakfast, wounderful beds”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I had a very nice stay everyone was very pleasant very clean property

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy6964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you and we hope to see you soon. Our Temper-pedic beds are very popular. We highly recommend them. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    38
    8
    11
See reviews for
32
46
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Didn't expect much but turned out to be awesome stay. The rooms are outdated but mattresses are Tempur-Pedic so sleeping was a dream for our bad backs. Great Blueberry pancakes, Steak & Eggs, Yankee pot roast too! Walking distance to downtown. Maids aren't poundingi on door either.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFMom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We were in the area for an event and friends made the reservation for us. There was a very strong dog odor plus dog hair in the first room, particularly on the bed, so we requested another room. The second room also smelled of dog, but there was no hair on the bed, although we did find dog hair in the bathroom. We were also bothered by a barking, whining dog, but no one answered the door to that room, which means it had been left unattended. Another guest at the event had to go to another hotel because her child was having a severe reaction to all the pet dander. But what bothered me most was that guests are encouraged to walk their dogs near a river, no one picks up after their pets, and when it rains, the dog waste is washed into the water. So, in addition to having no concern for non-dog-owning guests, this hotel also has no concern whatsoever for the environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavenderlady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
We are pet friendly and that doesn't work for everyone. I apologize for the dog hair. We now have rooms that are no smoke and no pet. They are great for those guests with alergies. Hope you give us another opportunity in the near future. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed at the Inn over Christmas 2009, visiting our son who is at Umaine, Orono. We arrived late at night and were welcomed by lady on front desk, who showed us complimentary coffee/tea station and breakfast room. Room was clean, comfortable beds and sitting area and tv. Kids made extensive use of wireless internet in room. Website mentions hire of fridge/microwave however these were provided in the room at no obvious charge. Staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Although our teenage sons didn't make breakfast themselves, we delivered breakfast in bed from a choice of pastries, bagels, toast, cereal, juice and fruit from the self-serve breakfast room. We did not have our own transport but front desk staff were able to provide prompt taxi service for us. Location within easy distance of airport and Bangor town centre. It was an easy walk along the Main St past Paul Bunyan statue into town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
It is great to guests from Europe! The famous Paul Bunyan statue locacated just across the street from the hotel looks good even in the snow. Thank you for your comments. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We chose the Fireside Inn because it's pet-friendly. The rooms could be a little cleaner, but overall it's a cozy, friendly place for the budget traveler, and conveniently located. A little noisy with the casino next door and trucks passing by.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smj000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thanks for your comments. Usually our neighbors, Hollywood Slots are usually pretty quiet but they certainly are convenient. Our rates sure beat theirs. Hope to see you soon! Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chciago
Level Contributor
432 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

These rooms, while clean, still needed an overhaul. The furniture is old and the lighting is very low. The heat was a good feature. If it is cold, the heating really works! Accompanying restaurant was just okay. The Hollywood Casino is next door and views looked like they would have been preferable. The girl working at the desk was okay, but not friendly at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thanks for your comments. We are always upgrading to make ourselves better. New fireplace suites, flat panel tv's and Temper-Pedic beds have helped. Hope you will give us another chance. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This Inn is located right next to Hollywood Slots, which was very convenient. There is a deal that if you book a 2 night reservation over the internet for $89/night through their website, they give you a $50. 00 voucher for the slots. When I checked in, I was informed that the manager forgot to buy the voucher. No big deal, they took $50. off my bill. Staff was very pleasant, the room adequate & clean. The bathroom however, was extremely tiny! Very comfortable bed...it was a temperpedic (sp?)
The worst part was the "continental breakfast"...a small pantry stocked with packaged danishes, cereal, etc. No protein, no fruit. Yuck!
The attached restaurant has great boneless wings and is open til midnight on the weekend, which is nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi6413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thanks for your comments. We will work on the continetal breakfast for your next visit. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
1.0 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Address: 570 Main St, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401-6821
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing