We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing history”

Cole Land Transportation Museum
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum dedicated to preserving and displaying Maine's land transportation equipment.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place to visit! Very knowledgeable and friendly people. The displays and history here were very interesting. Along with the pride for the people who have served our country. Worth the visit and I would highly recommend. Loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, General Manager at Cole Land Transportation Museum, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    37
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Historical Site for all forms of Land Transportation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place was such a great surprise, every form of land transportation from bicycles to trains were on display. Especially liked the snow removal equipment, snowmobiles and old fire trucks. Brought back many memories from my childhood of the old fire houses and trucks. The displays of military equipment was great. Price of admission was so inexpensive as was the purchase of memorabilia. Would definitely recommend it for any family on vacation in the Bangor, ME area. AAA +

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, General Manager at Cole Land Transportation Museum, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We love it when we get A+'s but a AAA+ now that's something! Thanks for the great review and we're so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Well worth the time spent! Don't Miss this if you are in the area.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There are times when you might wonder "is it worth it?"... or say "not another museum"... well... this is not just "another museum". This place is very much worth the price of admission. It is actually worthy of being in a place like the Smithsonian. The collection is well defined, well labeled, and very complete. You can tell that there is much love and care into putting together each display.
And, if you are only planning on being there an hour, you will be disappointed when it is time to leave. We spent several hours, and would love to come back another time. I just wish it was a little closer to California where I live so I could bring back others.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, General Manager at Cole Land Transportation Museum, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Tim,
This is possibly the greatest review we have ever received. We are humbled to be compared to the Smithsonian but are also very proud of the unique and special museum that we have. Please come back and see us if you ever make it back to our little corner of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I really like this Museum. It reminds me of my father and I love the history and cutlure it brings to Bangor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, General Manager at Cole Land Transportation Museum, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Emma, We're glad we can be a place that reminds you of your dad. One of my favorite things to do is listen to a father and his child, or a grandfather and grandchild as they go through the museum and bond over Maine history. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Place with History and Sights too”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great views and great fun learning about different transportation modes. Lots of activities to get the young and young at heart involved.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaye1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, General Manager at Cole Land Transportation Museum, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Tell all the folks in Belfast about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cole Land Transportation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cole Land Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing