We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed hotel. Shame about the desk staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We arrived, having booked, through the Internet, 2 rooms for 4 adults and 3 children. The young man at reception insisted that I had booked only one room and shrugged his shoulders when I pointed out the confirmation which did only state the number of guests. He was very unhelpful and blamed the Internet booking saying " we didn't book it, she did!" Which I felt was extremely rude! He offered us a second room - but we would have to pay for it! When we pointed out that by the price we had already paid, it was obvious that 2 rooms had been booked, he again shrugged his shoulders! We asked to speak to the manager. He returned saying that we could have the room "free of charge"! He then telephoned to say that they had found the booking and that ŵe had indeed paid for 2 rooms! Mistakes happen but the attitude of the young man and also the other young man at the desk, left us feeling very unwelcome. HOWEVER, the young lady in the morning was very helpful and charming! The hotel itself was excellent andthe rest of the staff very friendly. Shame that first impressions were not good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

918 - 924 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I try to stay at the Hilton family of hotels when we travel (which is often) and especially like the Hampton Inn brand. When we needed to go to Bangor for a shopping trip we chose the Bangor Hampton Inn and hoped for the best. We have had some REALLY bad experiences in Bangor. Well, we were so happy with the hotel, staff and room that we have it scheduled for our future getaway trips!

The breakfast is also plentiful for us and the parking area very well lit. Rooms are rather large in my opinion and we liked how they have laid them out unconventionally with the bed not in the "centre" of the room. The location is superb and close to everything!

Cannot recommend this hotel enough when your travels bring you to Bangor!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadHFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

One night (and a single night earlier this summer); exceptionally clean facilities, the usual excellent mattress, and a window that opens about six inches. no complaints. This stay I did note that the indoor pool chlorine smell was strong enough to be perceptible outdoors on arrival, and then inside in the lobby and down the hall. A desk person said perhaps the pool was just serviced.
Coffee was not great. And no place within walking distance for coffee.

Room Tip: 336, walk up and down stairs for aerobics, view of trees rather than hotel across the way. sun on wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for a week while on vacation in the Bangor area. The staff couldn't do enough for you. They try very hard, sometimes too much. Issues get corrected immediately. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. Too difficult to select one over the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is perfect for a stopover. Located on the edge of Bangor, near to the highway, the Hampton Inn Bangor offers great value accommodation. The public areas and guest rooms are of a very high quality. The swimming pool and sports centre are a great add on.

For me the only downside was the breakfast meal, served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery, and the complete lack of any recycling facilities. However, if you do not mind participating in an ecological disaster, this shouldn't spoil your stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Bangor for 2 nights during our trip around New England. A beautiful hotel which was immaculate and staff were so helpful. The breakfast in the morning was a good extra and the complimentary coffee was great as always in the US. The location was good, easy to find and near local amentities and the mall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

this hotel is clean, close to shopping. Colin greeted us and made our registration a pleasure. The room was large, beds were comfortable.Warm cookies greeted our arrival. The pool and hot tub, and free hot breakfast were great. Perhaps best of all was free transport to any places we wanted to go. The driver Ben was friendly and eager to help us find the places that would make our trip memorable. We also had free long distance calling to Canada! Imagine! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
648 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bangor
0.6 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor

Address: 261 Haskell Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-4240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#2 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range: £89 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Connie Award Winning hotel that has been rated number one in the Bangor area for customer satisfaction since we opened our doors 5 years ago. Our location is close to the highway, shopping, and restaurants. We offer complimentary shuttle service to take our guests anywhere in the Bangor area from 7AM to 10:30PM. Included with your stay is the complimentary breakfast from 6AM to 10AM, parking, and Wifi. Our suite shop is open 24 hours, and is stocked with snacks, drinks, frozen meals, and anything you may have forgotten to pack, for your convenience. We also have a fitness center with Precor equipment that is available from 5AM to 10PM, an indoor heated salt water swimming pool and hot tub that is open from 5AM to 10PM, and a business center that is open 24 hours. We have some of the largest guest rooms in Bangor. All guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and hair dryer. We also have coin-op guest laundry on site, and same-day dry cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing