We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend the Charles Inn.”
Review of The Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Charles Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Without a doubt the worst hotel experience we have ever had! We selected this hotel based on the well presented website and previous TripAdviosr reviews. We booked two rooms, what a mistake - one that won't be made again. Stick to the name brand hotels rather than this one, you will be disappointed otherwise. The hotel is old, dark and dingy. Since the window air conditioner located is behind the drapes they cannot be closed for privacy while the A/C is running. There is parking for about 10 vehicles so don't return to your room late at night or you are out of luck. Hot water comes and goes in the shower, the hot water tap for the sink did not work at all, the sink is located outside the bathroom and the beds in both rooms were not comfortable. We did not try the breakfast because we simply could not wait to leave. Our advise to other travellers is to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay at The Charles Inn. We chose The Charles Inn because of its convenient downtown location and we were lucky to get the last available room on a very busy weekend. Connie and the other staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large & comfortable for our family. Breakfast is quick, convenient, & healthy and can be enjoyed in the lobby or at outside tables in view of the public square. This is definitely the place to stay if you want to explore downtown Bangor on foot since it is walking distance of the Maine Discovery Museum (for children), multiple book stores, coffee shops, antique stores, restaurants, and the riverfront.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank doodle_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel the last night of a week's vacation in Maine. The hotel is in the heart of a downtown that is undergoing revitalization and is within walking distance to some good restaurants and pubs (check out the Seadog Brewing Company for good swill and eats).

Our check-in experience was very pleasantly handled by Connie, who is very friendly and helpful. The lobby was clean and bright. Our room on the second floor (room 201) faced the street and it was not noisy at all. The room was large with a high ceiling, four-poster bed, which was quite comfortable. The bathroom was spotless.

The entertainment room on the first floor was well equipped with a large screen TV and DVDs, games, books, etc. It also had a computer with internet access, and I was able to check in for my flight and check email, etc.

The maintenance man was even super friendly. He had dropped a socket from him tool set in the stairwell. I tracked him down and gave it back, he was so appreciative and called me an angel for taking the time to return it to him. He thanked me again profusely when our paths crossed a second time. I'm telling you, everyone was so friendly at this place!

We had to leave at 5:30 AM the next day, so we did not partake of the breakfast. However, I'm sure Connie would have made us coffee if we would have asked.

Another big plus is that this hotel is only about ten minutes from the Bangor Airport.

There is a lot of history in this old building. I hope Connie does really well and is able to continue to make improvements as she goes along. Forget the chain hotels and branch out to the Charles Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nomikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Quite possibly the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. The web site photos are completely misleading. Based on the photos and description, as well as testimonials from tripadvisor.com, we thought we were discovering some great gem: a boutique-style hotel in the center of the city. Wrong! This is a dump — no ifs, ands or buts. Just some of the problems: the bed was ancient (not antique!) and it sagged in the middle. The box spring was visibly ripped. The room was dusty and grimy. The lamps were falling apart. The surcharge ($25) for pets is especially outrageous when you consider the fact that you'll worry about your pet catching fleas from his stay. Had it not been so late and had we not been so exhausted from the trip to get there, we MOST CERTAINLY would have found alternate accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hapless_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JJTNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovesMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
4.9 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
0.9 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
650 reviews
1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
3 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 20 Broad St, Bangor, ME 04401-6302 (Formerly The Phenix Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come grow with us! Under new management! Enjoy a unique lodging experience in the heart of downtown Bangor. Walk to area restaurants, pubs, museums, and shopping. Large attractive rooms with cable TV, clock radios, irons, hairdryers, and free deluxe continental breakfast. View the historic city from our fourth floor conference room. Just 15 minutes to airport and major shopping malls. Less than an one hour drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Improving daily to serve our guests and the local community even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Bangor
Charles Hotel Bangor
The Charles Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing