We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Inn Close to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Country Inn at the Mall
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Inn Close to Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family stayed at the Country Inn at the Mall in Bangor during a recent trip to a college open house. The Inn is very quaint and welcoming. Located right on Stillwater Avenue near the Bangor Mall, the lnn looks like it should be in the countryside somewhere. The location is great since there are a pelthora of stores and restaurant options all up and down the street.

The lobby is beautifully decorated and very welcoming. In the winter the fire place is used. The clerk at the front desk was a little stressed upon our arrival (the wi fi was acting up) but settled down to check us in. The halls were clean, as was our room. My son got quite a kick out of the fact that we used an actual key and not a key-card to unlock the door!

The beds were comfortable and the room was organized well. The rooms could stand to be updated with better lighting and lighter walls but no complaints about the comfort!

The best part was the breakfast nook and continental breakfast which came with the room. Many "free continental breakfasts" consist of some cereals and yogurt. Not this one! In addition to cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices and coffee, there were breakfast sandwiches, waffles and many choices of breads. No one was hungry that morning - not even my teenage son!

We were very pleased and plan on staying there again when we are back in Bangor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    260
    63
    17
    6
See reviews for
226
230
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our fourth or fifth stay at this hotel and it was as good this time as ever. The last stay was a year ago and, like us, things are not as bright and shiny as they were then. The staff, as always, is helpful and accomodated our request to remain an extra night because the road ahead was under a late winter blizzard warning. Along with that, they moved our room closer to the breakfast room and entry to accomodate my disabled wife. They are the best!

It is conveniently located with a broad range of restaurants near at hand and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else while visiting Bangor.

Room Tip: Call for a reservation rather than booking online through a 3rd party that doesn't pass along sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XRCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I appreciate your compliments on our staff. We strive, every day, to provide the best, most pleasant, and most helpful service possible. Hearing that you enjoyed and benefitted from our service means a great deal to us. Over time, our rooms and the hotel, in general, are undergoing some changes and renovations. I hope you come to stay with us again, and get a chance to enjoy our improvements! We are always happy to see returning guests!

Thank you, again, for your review.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Country Inn at the Mall in Dec 2013. The price was right at $71. Young girl at front desk not very helpful, just doing her job. The place was not busy, very few cars in parking lot. We were put in an adjoining room on the first floor next to a family with young children. Very noisy, you can hear right through the adjoining door. The room was nice and clean. The heating unit is getting old and noisy. Breakfast was OK for a free breakfast..nothing to cheer about. If the price is right, I would reconsider staying but would insist not being put beside a young family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that your stay wasn't entirely satisfactory. If you are ever in the area again, and choose to stay with us, we will be more than happy to accommodate any requests, (i.e., 1st floor, no adjoining door, room with refrigerator, near entrance, etc.) to the best of our ability. We are in the process of upgrading our heater units, and some of them have yet to be replaced. I apologize that yours was bothersome & greatly appreciate you letting us know, so that we might fix this.

Thank you, again for your review!
I hope that you will stay with us again, sometime, so that we might provide you with the experience we feel that all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Writing this for my parents they are not internet people

they stayed at this hotel in November while there were shopping for deal in the US. The staff and hotel were great. due to rushing around to leave they left some of the items the bought on the trip. After contacting Florence S. the items were located and packed up. After some difficulty to get a courier to pick up the items. Florence S. took care of my parents items and was able to get them in the hands of the courier.


That is service above and beyond.

Gary and Colleen K

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear that your parents enjoyed their stay! We are happy to give you the best service that we can provide. I will pass along your appreciation to Florence. We love hearing that we were able to help our guests. Thank you very much for your kind compliments!

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blockhouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have been staying at the Country Inn for many years and have never had a bad experience. Hotel is very warm and welcoming upon entering, staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Flo, the manager is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you kindly for your review! I will be sure to pass this along to Flo.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.B.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Old and outdated. Room had not been vacuumed, a rolled up tissue or paper was under the
desk and the bathroom left much to be desired. Towels are paper thin. A complimentary
package containing make up remover which was on the bathroom counter, had a makeup stain
on it! Not sure if it was compliments of the hotel or the last guest in that room!!! The sheets
were clean but on a not very comfortable bed. And no deal on the price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SuLuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While this is not a typical experience here at the Country Inn, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. We value our guests' opinions, and we take your comments and concerns seriously. Our housekeeping staff has been alerted to the issues you mentioned, pertaining to the cleanliness of your room. Any time our guests have concerns regarding the quality of his/her room, rate or stay, we strongly encourage them to express these concerns to us, right away, so that we might rectify the situation immediately. We invite you to stay with us when/if you are in the area again, so that you might have the experience that we feel all of our guests deserve.

Thank you, again!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent one night here, as we have for the past 10+ years. The rooms are average size, double beds or one king. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms have been updated over the past two years, flat screen tv's are a nice addition. Breakfast is the usual fare, waffles, sausage, egg. Fruit, juice etc. We are staying there again in a couple of weeks for a girls trip.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room in the main part of the building, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at the Mall

Property: The Country Inn at the Mall
Address: 936 Stillwater Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bangor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#9 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Country Inn at the Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the intersection of Hogan Road and Stillwater Avenue, The Country Inn at the Mall is your home away from home when visiting the Bangor area. Our independently owned 94 room hotel has been hosting guests from all walks of life since its opening in 1989. Our cozy lobby offers a "country" ambiance that most people describe as homey and comfortable - the cookies that are made fresh daily also help! The welcoming atmosphere of the lobby is appreciated by our guests who enjoy the couches by the fireplace - or if it is warm you will find them on the front porch passing the time in the rocking chairs. Our front desk staff is always friendly and courteous as we provide exceptional customer service to every guest, for every stay and our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their attention to detail. The consistent positive feedback that we receive from visitors is a testament to how much each employee cares about the hotel and our guests. We have many people who have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bangor - regardless of what interest initially brought them to the area. Whether you are a returning guest or trying us out for the first time, we appreciate your interest in our hotel and we look forward to providing you with an excellent stay at our Country Inn at the Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Country Inn at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At The Mall Hotel Bangor
Country Hotel Bangor
Country Inn Bangor
The Country Hotel
Bangor Country Inn
The Country Inn At The Mall Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing