We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Country Inn at the Mall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Country Inn at the Mall
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I only had 2 nights in Bangor, the staff at the Country Inn made me feel very welcome. The Inn is very pretty and the grounds are a credit to their gardener. My room was clean and comfy, and lacked nothing. It's location is very handy to shopping, food and public transport. Thank you Tom and Jessica for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us!
I appreciate your feedback & am very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the staff.

Thanks again!

Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    253
    63
    17
    6
See reviews for
220
230
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had a wonderful time staying at the Country Inn at the Mall on my recent trip to Maine. When I had trouble going over the threshold into and out of the bathroom in my room, the manager of the hotel helped me (pushed my wheelchair all the way from the lobby to my daughter's car) and asked how they could make it better for me. When I told her about that pesky little threshold, she asked if it was okay if they went into my room to put a piece of cardboard there while I was out. I said of course, and there was a piece of cardboard making the threshold much easier to maneuver, until it flattened, when I discussed this with maintenance, and they said they were looking for something harder to put there. They replaced the cardboard. Whenever I was going into or out of the hotel, there was always some very helpful individual there. Someone always helped me in the breakfast room. Usually it was a hotel employee, but even other guests helped me.

And the breakfast. Don't let their claim of "free continental breakfast" fool you. They have coffee, decaf, hot cocoa, and tea there 24/7. They have half-and-half there 24/7. They have water, apple juice, and orange juice there 24/7. They have cold cereal dispensers there all the time, and packets of instant oatmeal there all the time. From 6 to 10 in the morning, they also have milk for the cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, English muffins, doughnuts, waffles, yogurt, and fruit cups.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abuelitaoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
I'm so happy you wrote a review for us. Thank you!
I'm glad you found the staff so helpful and enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure give your compliments to the staff. They're always happy to hear when they have made an impression on a guest.

I hope you come to stay with us, again!
Thanks again for your review! We really appreciate it!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

After spending a week on the coast, my husband and I spent our last night here so that we could catch a morning flight out of Bangor. (There are closer hotels to the airport, but this one is only 5 miles away on a very easy highway route). We arrived at about 10pm - it is very easy to spot from the road, but there are a lot of chain-stores and restaurants in the area. The front desk man was courteous and helpful and check in was quick. We we given a room on the second floor, but there are roller carts and an elevator to make the trip from the parking lot to the room easier. Our room had a king-size bed, and it was really a large room with a nice-sized bathroom. The windows really open, which is a nice touch (although the traffic can be loud for my tastes - this sound is sufficiently muffled when the windows are closed). The climate control in the room worked well, and we were comfortable as far as temperature is concerned. The bathroom was generally clean, but I also noticed a few issues - the towels seemed on the thin side, the bathtub had a slow drain so water backed up during the shower (and that caused the stick on rows of slip-prevention to float loose on one end or the other, which felt a little gross). Everything was clean. They offer a free breakfast - frozen egg and sausage disks that can be placed inside an english muffin, or I suppose eat without the muffin, too. I had cereal and some yogurt, and a hot tea. I didn't try to make the waffles that were an option, but many people seemed to enjoy them. Overall, it was a nice stay and meet our needs very well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review!
I'm so glad to hear that we could be a pleasant addition to your trip. I apologize that your towels didn't seem quite up to par. This is something I do plan on addressing, and working towards maybe getting some of them replaced. We all want nice big fluffy towels when we're staying in hotel rooms!

Again, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Your feedback is extremely important to us!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is our favourite stopping place on trips farther south when driving to and from Nova Scotia. Price is right, rooms are clean, self serve breakfast is very decent. We have been stopping here for more than thirty years. Gets the job done. No reason to go elsewhere in Bangor. Good night's sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We very much appreciate your feedback.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us. I hope you stay with us for years to come!

Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great value for the money. Pleasant and helpful staff. Rooms were clean and quiet. Mall is right across the street and easy to get to. Travel to downtown only took 5 minutes. would stop here again when traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel!
It's great to hear that our central location made your trip more convenient. I'm pleased that you were happy with your stay and I will pass your compliments along to the staff!

I hope you get to stay with us again!

Thank you!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stop in Bangor returning from eastern Canada, and have twice stayed at The Country Inn at the Mall. Friendly staff, clean rooms, hot breakfast, good value. On the downside, no fridge, and the ice machine is located by the lobby, a bit of a hike if you're at the far end of the Inn. This a good, clean and comfortable option in Bangor, and we'll return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review!
I'm so happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay!
I'd just like to mention that there is a fridge in our king rooms. We do have a limited amount of double rooms with a fridge. They are available upon request.
Always feel free to inquire about any amenity you would like to see for your stay! If we have it, we will do the very best we can to make sure that you get it. If we don't have it, requests give us a great way to get ideas of what we might add to our amenities in the future!

Thanks again for your review! I'm glad that you plan to return.
See you next time!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Clean and comfortable Place to stay.Staff always great.Have stayed many times here over the years and is our first choice in bangor.The hotel is basic but comfortable.Breakfast is great if hit at the right time(no crowd).Good location.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review!
We love when a guest returns to stay with us year after year! It's such a nice thing to see familiar faces. Hope to see you next time you're in the area!

Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bangor
Residence Inn Bangor
#7 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at the Mall

Property: The Country Inn at the Mall
Address: 936 Stillwater Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bangor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#9 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Country Inn at the Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the intersection of Hogan Road and Stillwater Avenue, The Country Inn at the Mall is your home away from home when visiting the Bangor area. Our independently owned 94 room hotel has been hosting guests from all walks of life since its opening in 1989. Our cozy lobby offers a "country" ambiance that most people describe as homey and comfortable - the cookies that are made fresh daily also help! The welcoming atmosphere of the lobby is appreciated by our guests who enjoy the couches by the fireplace - or if it is warm you will find them on the front porch passing the time in the rocking chairs. Our front desk staff is always friendly and courteous as we provide exceptional customer service to every guest, for every stay and our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their attention to detail. The consistent positive feedback that we receive from visitors is a testament to how much each employee cares about the hotel and our guests. We have many people who have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bangor - regardless of what interest initially brought them to the area. Whether you are a returning guest or trying us out for the first time, we appreciate your interest in our hotel and we look forward to providing you with an excellent stay at our Country Inn at the Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Country Inn at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At The Mall Hotel Bangor
Country Hotel Bangor
Country Inn Bangor
The Country Hotel
Bangor Country Inn
The Country Inn At The Mall Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing