We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again an oasis!”
Review of Comfort Inn Bangor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Bangor
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited twice near the end of July. This is at least our sixth visit here, and we are never disappointed... The staff here are great, and so is the breakfast, above average for the chain, and kept well replenished. Nice beds, clean room. Always the same review. Too bad our timing was off both times for the cookies that are generally provided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nsbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you have made Bangor Comfort Inn your hotel of choice in the Bangor area.

Also, we are happy to save you cookies if you are not here for cookie time! :)

We look forward to having you again soon!
Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Bangor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived for a return visit to this property recently. The front desk agent asked us if we had a preference of rooms on the 2nd or 3 floor. We told him that any room with good WiFi was fine. He looked perplexed and turned to the other agent. She said "room #*** by the elevator" and that's where we went.

After unpacking in the room, we were unable to connect to WiFi on any of our 3 devices. Only going out into the hallway and down the hall a little would give us any WiFi signal. We went to the front desk and let the agent who suggested that room know there was no WiFi access in that room at all. She said she would have maintenance check into it.

We never saw a maintenance worker and never heard from any front desk agent after that, so we had no WiFi for our stay. When checking out, we mentioned to the different FD agent that we had no WiFi and that someone was going to check it last night but never did and the front desk never checked back with us. She apologized and said "our WiFi isn't very good" and checked us out.

I understand that WiFi can be unreliable at times (it was fine on our previous stay here) in any building but the real issue is that the staff did not take the issue seriously enough to follow up with us. The standard procedure when encountering a problem like this with guests that just checked in is to offer to move them to another room, but the agent never made that offer. She merely passed the problem off to maintenance and let the issue escalate into a disappointing stay for us due to no Wifi.

This would have been a very different stay and review if the staff cared enough to own the issue and resolve it instead of just saying "our WiFi isn't very good" on checkout.

We would have no problem recommending this property based on its amenities, (even the questionable Wifi, if you were able to be moved to a room with working WiFi,) and rates, but we cannot recommend a property where the staff just doesn't care.

There are lots of hotels in the area with similar amenities and competitive rates. You're better off checking them out instead.

Room Tip: Don't ask front desk for a room recommendation with good WiFi.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mationdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay with us. Please know this is not customary of the Bangor Comfort Inn. All of our front desk agents are undergoing guest satisfaction training beginning this week, and I can assure you this will not happen again.

I am currently working with our internet provider to upgrade all of our wireless points and our equipment. We are working on getting this resolved this week. We completely understand the importance of wireless internet begin readily available at today's speed.

We work hard to maintain high standards and are always striving to improve. It is feedback from our guests that really makes an impact on his, where we want to provide the best services to all of our guests.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your recent stay. I would be happy to further discuss your stay with us if you would like to call the hotel at your convenience and ask to speak with me.

We are also undergoing a complete renovation and remodel to all of our rooms and we are getting all new furniture. We hope you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The service at the Comfort Inn in Bangor ME was excellent. I stayed a a different hotel the week before staying at the Comfort Inn. The other hotel was listed as a 3 star hotel. I really did not see much difference. I did not needed a pool or room service so I decided to give the Comfort Inn a chance. The staff were all very helpful, pleasant and professional. The place was clean and centrally located. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soul2sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your hotel and hope to have you again the next time you are staying in the Bangor area!

Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

So we stayed two seperate nights in two different rooms on a trip downstate. The first night was fine nice room, comfy beds, nice bathroom, pretty good wifi and a yummy breakfast. Although there was a bug found in our room that's the only thing I can complain about for night one. Night two however is a completely different story. We were given the last room available. Which had a king size bed and a pull out sofa. My sister and I were given the sofa and my mom and grandmother slept in the bed. The mattress was literally like sleeping on a blanket on top of metal rods. I woke up this morning sore as all get out after having metal dig into my body all night. In fact I can't sleep on my side tonight because it hurts too bad. That situation was bad but the wifi was terrible. We were in room 246 and the only spot with decent wifi was the bathroom. I ended up using my 4g on my phone the entire time. There was also a bug found in this room. Breakfast was again yummy but nothing could make up for the bed and wifi situation. They should replace the sofa beds and get a better connection. It's a great deal and close to the mall & highway but for me it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are currently resolving the wi-fi situation. We have had a technician come in and start the process of setting up new wi-fi hot spots throughout our hotel. This problem should be resolved within the next week.

We are currently in the process of undergoing renovations which will include getting all new furniture. We have hand selected the couches to make sure they will be comfortable for all of our guests.

I do hope that once our renovations are finished you will consider giving us a second chance at providing you with an excellent and comfortable stay.

Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for us. It is very close to the mall, and lots of restaurants in the area. Our room was really clean, bed perfect and the air conditioner worked great. Would defintely stay here again. The breakfast was typical continental. The day we were there it was very busy but it was more than adequate for our needs, coffee was good!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank abbeydelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review the Bangor Comfort Inn on TripAdvisor; our staff always enjoyed receiving feedback. We hope to have you again soon!

Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great place to stay and very reasonably priced. The room was clean and had all the amenities needed.

The continental breakfast was terrific - you couldn't ask for more.

The only suggestion I would make is that the drive up to the hotel could be more clearly marked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you again soon.

Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I only have positive comments regarding this hotel. The rooms were always kept clean, the front desk was always helpful. They had shuttle service that would drive you anywhere in the area. They had a number of choices for breakfast including waffles, yogurt, fruit, eggs, etc. We had a large going staying along with us and everyone loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynWells, Manager at Comfort Inn Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will use your feedback as encouragement to all of our staff; they always enjoy hearing feedback! We look forward to having you again soon!

Kathryn Wells
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
7.2 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
510 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.6 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Bangor

Address: 10 Bangor Mall Blvd, Bangor, ME 04401-3611 (Formerly Hampton Inn Bangor/Bar Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangor
#3 Business Hotel in Bangor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Bangor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bangor/Bar Harbor Hotel Bangor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Bangor Hampton Inn
Comfort Inn Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing