We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Better than my dreams”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Little Island House, Upstairs and Downstairs apts., each sleeps 2.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Island House, Upstairs and Downstairs apts., each sleeps 2.
Arrive, and park Entering Upstairs, to right is study area and stairs to third floor bedrooom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
9 reviews
Little Island House, Upstairs and Downstairs apts., each sleeps 2.
Arrive, and park
Entering Upstairs, to right is study area and stairs to third floor bedrooom.
Upstairs apt. bedroom on third floor. Queen size bed.
Living room in Upstairs apt. Sliding glass door to left. As seen coming down stairs from the bedroom
Upstairs fireplace and sitting area.
Upstairs dining area with beautiful views of the mountains and village of Bernard across the harbor.
Kitchen in Upstairs apt. Bosch gas range, oven, and microwave. Amana Refrigerator.
Harbor and village views from the kitchen, Upstairs apartment.
Upstairs apt. bathroom, just around the corner from the kitchen.
Garden side front door, enters Downstairs apartment.
Entering the Downstairs apartment from the harbor side sliding glass door. Living room.
Fireplace and sliding glass doors, Downstairs apartment.
Living room and kitchen windows, Downstairs
Bedroom with queen-size bed in Downstairs apartment.
Downstairs bedroom. deck and water beyond
Downstairs bedroom with twin beds, with front gardens beyond
Twin beds, Downstairs
View to the north, to the head of the harbor.
View across the harbor, to the village of Bernard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bass Harbor, Tremont, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melissa g
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than my dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I first saw this lovely cottage in 2012, when my husband and I were traveling in our RV and staying in a campground just outside Acadia. We found it totally by accident, just exploring. It looked so lovely, with its gray shingles and beautiful cottage garden - and the setting! Right there ON Bass Harbor. Literally, right on it. I said to my husband, "I want to stay there someday." Well we did. We stayed in the upstairs unit and our friends stayed in the downstairs unit. The cottage is SO well-appointed - the upstairs kitchen is large, with modern appliances and everything you'd ever need. It's open and spacious, with a giant stone fireplace. Furniture is very comfortable and so was the bed - and that isn't always the case with rental cottages! But the views are the best - in every direction through the huge windows, and from the wrap-around deck. We watched the lobstermen go out in the morning and the sun set in the evening. We took the Gott excursion boat that leaves right from the dock that runs alongside - well worth it! It was a glorious, wonderful week in the nicest cottage I've ever stayed in. It far exceeded my expectations.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything. Okay - the setting, the view, the comfort.
Liked least: Bedroom up the stairs and bath on the floor below - that's a little awkward but didn't negatively affect us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QC, Canada
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlanKitte...
Kittery Point, ME
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Water on 3 sides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A modern two unit house with all the comforts of home. Since you are on an island the views of Bass Harbor and Bernard are spectacular. A good restaurant within walking distance (island is connected via causeway). An island boat tour of the surrounding other islands is available from a tour boat company on the island. Do not miss this tour. It includes viewing the seals & eagles that populate the area and includes a demonstration in pulling a lobster trap, a main occupation here in Maine.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Living unit (1st floor)
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNGFNY
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Island House : outstanding views and beautiful accommodations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Charlene and Kim Strauss are wonderful hosts. Your needs are important to them and they make you feel very welcome.
The house is very clean and well maintained. The views are very entertaining. Little Island House has the perfect atmosphere for relaxation.
I have already booked my stay for next summer!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It was visually appealing and very comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arnaudville
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,050
/ Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing