We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!”
Review of Ann's Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ann's Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bass Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Wonderful room, grounds, and service. We stayed in the Blue Heron room and loved it. Fabulous breakfasts, quickly custom-tailored to our preferences, and warm cookies at bedtime. We enjoyed every minute of our 4 day stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and two other couples took at trip to Maine and we spent two nights in Bass Harbor at Ann's Point Inn. We had a lovely time and can't wait to go back. Our room was spacious and very comfortable (Mallards Haven). It had a large shower and a separate large tub. The bed and linens were divine. The inn has a large library of wonderful movies on DVD to take to your room for viewing on the flat screen TV and DVD player.

The innkeepers, Alan and Jeannette, are very friendly and offered great advice for our day of touring Acadia National Park and even provided us with a CD of an audio tour for our car. Each evening at 5:30 we were treated to delicious local wines and cheeses on the patio which overlooked tidal water.

Jeannette is a chef par excellence! Her breakfasts each morning have to be some of the best in all of New England. The homemade cookies left at our bedside each night made for sweet dreams! We loved the B&B and Acadia National Park and are already talking about our next trip.

Room Tip: We loved Mallards Haven with its private deck overlooking the tidal water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 151,515,151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our 4th time here did not disappoint.
As to be expected, Darlings Jeanette & Alan were perfect hosts and we spent the week in suprime comfort with the best breakfasts and cocktail hour anywhere. Because of its small size, the inn feels like a private club.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

A review in the Cleveland Plain Dealer made a decision for us. We booked a 5 night stay with Alan and Jeanette and highly recommend Ann's Point Inn for an exceptional experience with caring and knowledgeable hosts. The other reviews acknowledge their skills and the Inn's amenities. We left feeling we had visited with friends. We will miss it all--- until we return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italialou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I spent 4-days of our 20th Anniversary East coast vacation at Ann's Point Inn. It's hard to know when you plan a vacation from 3,500 miles away, just what you might be getting into! Not only were we not disappointed, we were pleasantly surprised at the all the extras that made this one of our best B & B experiences ever.

Upon arrival, we were shown a basket of menus from local restaurants; guide books for hiking, driving, kayaking, bicycling - everything we might want to do while visiting the area; we were shown the indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna; the common area which had rows upon rows of dvd's to watch after a tiring day of activities, coffee and tea, a basket of crackers/nuts. On the one day it rained, they pulled out their sheet with suggestions for rainy day activities!

We were finally shown to our "Blue Heron" room which was clean, spacious and cozy. There were two sitting areas....one with two chairs looking out the corner windows at the extraordinary views beyond, the other with another window, t.v., chair, chaise - with blanket - (my favorite place in the whole room!), walk-in closet and door to a small outdoor patio.

We arrived in time for Alan's 5:30 p.m. cheese and wine extravaganza. It was a wonderful way to get to know the other guests - tasting cheeses with a variety of crackers, trying to guess what fruit was used to make a particular wine and sharing stories - lots of fun and laughter!

Upon arriving home from dinner each night, we found a plate with freshly baked cookies. On the last night we were surprised with an anniversary extra.....chocolate dipped strawberries!!

Our morning breakfasts in the Sun Room or on the deck were first class and included home-made granola, coffee/tea, variety of juices, a freshly baked pastry/banana nut bread followed by a wonderful hot breakfast dish.

Alan and Jeannette are first class host/hostess and have created a warm and inviting atmosphere down to the very smallest details. I highly recommend Ann's Point Inn - on the "Quiet Side" of Desert Island!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Ann's Point Inn is every bit as beautiful as the photos of it suggest. It is modern, unfussy and unpretentious. Our room was beautiful, the bed luxuriously comfortable and the windows provided gorgeous views. The bathroom was spacious, modern and immaculate. Breakfasts were delicious and artfully presented and the indoor and outdoor dining spaces are beautiful and serene, with classical or jazz music always playing. Jeannette graciously accommodated my dairy allergy and every morsel was perfect. The daily wine and cheese hour was a special treat. Each day Alan introduced us to interesting and unusual wines and cheeses and kept us entertained with his wit. This is the best B & B at which my husband and I have ever stayed and as beautiful as any luxury hotel as well. My only hesitation in writing this is that I'm afraid this treasure of a place will be discovered and completely booked when we try to make our next reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellencoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We love all of what we experienced at Ann's Point Inn from beginning to end. It was smply amazing ! Our room ( the Eagles Nest ) was immaculate, the gourment breakfasts were outstanding, Alan's wine and cheese hour was a great opportunity to meet and talk with the other guests,.Alan and Jeannette gave suggestions of sights to see, places to eat and Jeannette made dinner reservations for us on the evening we arrived. What impressed me the most was their concern for my food allergies and diet restrictions - this was a first for me- They went to great lengths to make certain our stay was enjoyable- to say the least. We are looking forward to many more visits with them. If you do not stay at Ann's Point Inn you are making a mistake.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eagle's Nest - great size, great views, Can not imagine that the other rooms wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Harbor
12.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
12 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
11.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
12 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Point Inn

Address: 79 Anns Point Rd, Bass Harbor, Tremont, Mount Desert Island, ME 04653-3453
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Tremont > Bass Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bass Harbor
Price Range: £195 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ann's Point Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious four-diamond contemporary B&B on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island--secluded and romantic yet close to beautiful Acadia National Park and the towns of Bass Harbor, Southwest Harbor and Bar Harbor, Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ann's Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann's Point Inn Bass Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing