We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, local fare”
Review of J R Maxwell & Co.

J R Maxwell & Co.
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty, local fare”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I enjoy the seafood in particular: the fried Maine shrimp and the broiled haddock. The chocolate cake is highly recommended. You are given nice, soft bread loaves while you wait for your order.

I personally recommend sitting in the room off of the upstairs bar. It's comfortable and relaxed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aerial04530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    111
    38
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“surprising”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Needed a place for a birthday party of ten . Maxwell's was chosen , but I was wary . I was expecting mediocre pub food . The meal was actually very good for all in the party except for one dish of chicken piccata which looked like two brown patties with no sauce . My friend said it was good, but
it sure wasn't piccata ! Most had seafood & all of it was fresh & well prepared . Salads were very crisp ,fresh & generous although not "out of the box " ingredient wise .
Our server was very nice .
The person who took the reservation was in a huge rush though & got the time wrong & didn't even get that we had a wheelchair need , Upon arrival we were told that he would have to sit in a little vestibule in the bar entry away from the party ? !! So we struggled with the stairs & got him in . Jeez ! Wouldn't you listen to a customer wanting to feed 10 people $$ ?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MainePerfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I made reservations for 7 on an early Friday evening. Our table was ready when we arrived. Four of us ordered prime rib the weekend offering and the rest ordered various small plates. The meal came with 2 sides and fresh bread. The prime rib was some of the best we have had in recent times. The accompaniments, salad and baked potato were good. I would definitely dine here again. I only gave 4 stars instead of 5 because the wait staff was not quite as attentive to our party as I would have liked. Drinks remained empty too long and when asked for a condiment after dinner was already served the server thought it best to wait on another table before bringing our item over.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankee-peddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath Maine
2 reviews
“Great value”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good fish and value for the price. We always like to go there when we want a good meal without a big price. We like the Haddock best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ejstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osage Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lobster Stew”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We go to Maine every Winter and we never miss stopping by at JR Maxwell's for a bowl of the best Lobster Stew ever. For less than $10 you get a full size bowl with as much lobster as broth. Then they top it with Orange Cognac. If you are ever in this area, please make it a point to go by and try this as you will NOT ever be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GunnerMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J R Maxwell & Co. also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to J R Maxwell & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing