We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Perkins room was great”
Review of Kennebec Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennebec Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Had a lovely stay in the Kennebec Inn when taking a class at the Shelter institute which is close to Bath. The accommodation was very nice, very clean and spacious. We had a wonderful hostess who served us delicious breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I made last-minute reservations for an overnight at the Kennebec. Rachel and Ken are wonderful and warm people, the room we had (the Captain Reed) was clean, spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was more than enough (and I can eat!) and well prepared by Rachel. Price was very reasonable, we thought. In the morning we took a nice walk down to the Hyde school campus with its lovely grounds and all the amenities of Bath are nearby. All-in-all a nice find and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLOTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The inn is very clean and surprisingly quiet, since it is close to Route 1. We wondered what a 3 course breakfast would be. Rachel first served berry-filled mini-turnovers, followed buy a wonderful baked apple with vanilla ice cream. The final course was a delightful cheese omelet with very high quality sausage and hash brown potatoes with a dollop of sour cream. Lots of coffee, OJ and ice water. Our room (America's Cup) had a lot of character and a lot of room. The room could have used a second bedside table with a lamp, but that is a quibble. The bathroom was modern and clean. The hosts were friendly and helpful. In the summer, downtown Bath would be walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I first stayed at the Kennebec Inn in 2009. This week I was delighted to return for my third visit. Rachel always welcomes me like an old friend. She cooks delicious, lavish, elegantly served full breakfasts and keep the inn spotless and cozy. The inn combines historic charm with modern comforts and coveniences, including wifi and some rooms have flatscreen tv. The beds are great. And Rachel could not be more helpful. It's also conveniently located near Maine Maritime Museum, Bath Iron Works and town. I'll definitely stay here again if my work (or vacation) brings me back to Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavisSqBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Probably the best B & B experience of my life! Our host reinvented breakfast each of the four mornings we were there. And what extraordinary breakfasts they were! Wonderful settings inside and outside the house. We will surely return!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room, which was still huge and has windows on 3 sides. Bright, quiet and strateg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Rachel is a very warm and gracious host. She is very knowledgeable about the Bath and mid coast Maine area. The inn is very clean and Rachel makes you feel like you are home. Breakfast like your grandmother used to make.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert41a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I had the opportunity to travel to Bath Maine for my job. I stayed three nights at this charming inn!. The room was tastefully decorated and extremely clean. The breakfast each day was homemade and absolutely delicious. Rachel was warm, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. I hope to visit again soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPBTosaWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
7.2 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benjamin F. Packard House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Bath
The Inn at Bath
#3 of 6 in Bath
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middle Street Inn
Middle Street Inn
#5 of 6 in Bath
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebec Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebec Inn

Address: 696 High St, Bath, ME 04530-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £129 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennebec Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1851 by Captain James B. Perkins, the Inn offers a park-like setting with vintage barn, easy parking, picnic area, large peaceful en-suites, and a gated in ground swimming pool. Among other things, guests enjoy a three-course breakfast served each morning on beautiful Blue Willow China, free wireless internet, easy access to town, shopping and beach. But the best part about The Kennebec Inn is its welcoming feel and the owner's attention to detail. Relax...You're at the Kennebec Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kennebec Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebec Inn Bath, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing