We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time just as good as the first”
Review of Kennebec Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennebec Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Second time just as good as the first”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stopped In Bath on our way back from Bar Harbor and decided on the spur of the moment to see if there was a room available at The Kennebec Inn. Rachel remembered us from last year and had a couple of rooms free so we were in luck. Still has the excellent service as described in my review of last October 2012. It was like visiting an old friend. This time we stayed in the America's Cup Room with a Queen sized bed. It located at the back of inn which was quieted as the inn is located on a busy street. Breakfast was great as before. Keep that smile coming Rachel and it was nice meeting Ken the elusive husband this time!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachglassgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
77
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What an amazing place! Our room was spacious and very comfortable. There were 2 large homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting for us. The owner Rachel was wonderful and immediately made us feel right at home. She gave us great recommendations for dinner, and other places of interest. The inn is a short walk to downtown where there are many shops and restaurants. The breakfast was incredible from the blueberry scones, egg, sweet potato, spinach,
tomato and mushroom frittata, to the apple crisp and whipped cream. Rachel is an fantastic cook!! My husband and I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and this rates as one of the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattymc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I cannot say enough about this B&B! My wife and I stayed here two nights in August 2013 and enjoyed every minute. Wonderful hospitality and Rachael was a fantastic host and fantastic cook. Bath is a good central location to visit other areas within an hors drive.

Room Tip: Captain Reed room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Kennebec Inn Bed and Breakfast for one night. I wish it were longer! Rachel, the proprietor, is lovely, and so was our room. It was bright, clean, lots of windows, and very comfortable, with a private bathroom. The dining room is large and attractive. I want the kitchen in my home. The breakfast was perfect, and I have celiac, so that was a special treat! I will stay there again, and recommend it to anyone who travels to the Bath, Maine, area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very welcoming. WONDERFUL breakfast. Extremely clean, well kept and comfortable. Thank you Rachel, Ken and Johnny for being such great hosts. They have good knowledge of the area and made some excellent recommendations for day trips and dinners. Will definetly stay again next time we are in Maine.

Thanks again,
Collin and Heather

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHMather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Kennebec Inn with my sisters, on a sisters' getaway. This was my fifth stay at the Kennebec Inn, but each time before I was just passing through, and I kept thinking, "I'd really like to stay here and explore the area." That's just what we did this time, and we found the inn and the area perfect for our vacation. There's so much to do within a short ride, and Rachel, the innkeeper, was ready with maps and suggestions for us, each morning. She is a friendly and helpful hostess, and she is a creative and loving cook, who spoiled us with amazing breakfasts each day. Our room (and the inn itself) was spotless, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. We were surprised at how much we enjoyed the Maritime Museum, right in Bath, and strolling around in downtown Bath. We also visited the fabulous Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, and the Art Museum at Bowdoin, where we saw a great exhibit of Maurice Pendergast's paintings of coastal scenes, many in Maine. So glad to have found this wonderful B & B!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Ct
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We are frequent Bed and Breakfast visitors . Over the years, we have stayed at many fine B&B's in Southern and Mid-coast Maine and Vermont.Several years ago we visited Bath, Maine and stayed at the beautiful Kennebec Inn. I was sharing with Rachel,the gracious innkeeper, that we have never stayed at the same B&B more than once . Even though I have enjoyed many a fine B&B, I am always looking for a new B&B experience even if it in the same town as a wonderful B&B we have enjoyed. However I could not have considered staying anywhere else when my wife and I decided for a return visit to Bath. We stayed in the Captain Reed room for the second time and we were thoroughly delighted with our stay. Having stayed at many fine B&B's, I can confidently say this is one of the best. Beautiful,very spacious rooms, exquisitely clean,wonderful breakfasts and a caring host. Years ago, I did a search of B&B's, with a pool, and discovered the choices are very,very few and this is how we discovered the Kennebec Inn in the first place. The pool and grounds are simply beautiful. Bath Maine is a beautiful quaint New England town with interesting shops and dining spots. We especially enjoy J.R. Maxwell's.The Kennebec Inn in Bath Maine is an excellent launching point to Freeport(L.L.Bean) ,Wiscasset, Damariscotta,and Boothbay Harbour all of which have wonderful shopping in true New England style where the shopkeeper welcomes you and appreciates your business. Rachael recommended we visit the Permaquid Point Lighthouse and it is a not to be missed destination. We have also visited the Popham State Park 's pristine oceanfront beach. The Kennebec Inn is the place to stay and features very fair rates for an exceptional B&B experience

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful.The Captain Reed room is on second floor and is exceptionally quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterStratfordCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
391 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.8 mi away
Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebec Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebec Inn

Property: Kennebec Inn
Address: 696 High St, Bath, ME 04530-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennebec Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1851 by Captain James B. Perkins, the Inn offers a park-like setting with vintage barn, easy parking, picnic area, large peaceful en-suites, and a gated in ground swimming pool. Among other things, guests enjoy a three-course breakfast served each morning on beautiful Blue Willow China, free wireless internet, easy access to town, shopping and beach. But the best part about The Kennebec Inn is its welcoming feel and the owner's attention to detail. Relax...You're at the Kennebec Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kennebec Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebec Inn Bath, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing