We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place like this in Bath? WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solo Bistro

Solo Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Solo Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
bowdoin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A place like this in Bath? WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We (a party of 8) dined at Solo Bistro during the midweek. Despite the size of our party, we were quickly seated and the wait staff was very attentive. Solo has a good wine list and offers an extensive selection of Maine craft beers ($4-$10), as well as an interesting mix of cocktails and "adult" sodas (not alcoholic, mind you, but the stuff without high fructose corn syrup). Drinks arrived in a timely manner, along with bread slices served with a delcious honey-dill butter.

Half of our party enjoyed the scallops served with bleu cheese grits ($28), and a rest went with the flank steak served with greens and steak fries ($25) or the Eleanor Buttercup bacon cheeseburger served with fries ($18). I was a bit taken aback by the price of my burger, but such thoughts perished when the meals arrived - the burger was cooked to perfection and the combination of the Buttercup cheese and boar bacon was absolutely fantastic! The steak fries also were outstanding.

While some in our party were perhaps put off with the portion sizes (this is not the standard more-food-than-you-could-ever-eat sort of place), the rest of us were amazed with the flavors and presentation. With a salad, two entres and a couple of drinks, my tab totaled about $70. I am definitely a "value" diner and found the bottom line was reasonable for the quality of food that was served.

When you're tired of fried seafood, give Solo Bistro a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonD21045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    69
    27
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gourmet dining, great drinks, excellent wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've eaten many times at Solo. Busy, slow, summer, winter… in every case the service is excellent and the good is prepared to perfection. Not pretentious, but also not (even close to) the standard steak and seafood restaurant you're most likely to find in these environs. Farm to table, fresh, in-season local foods cooked with flair and creativity. DELISH.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
191 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good dinner in midcoast Maine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We happened to be arriving in Bath on a Friday evening and needed a place for dinner. Solo did not disappoint. The wine list is good, and they offer some interesting cocktails. Oysters with a pink peppercorn mignonette were delicious, but a wild mushroom risotto could have packed a more earthy punch. Steak frites was well-cooked. The creme brulee for dessert had good flavor and texture and the service was prompt and friendly. The decor is a bit spartan, but overall a nice dinner out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom74150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great chef and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Lovely informal restaurant. Food distinctly better than average. Good value. Nice and quiet at lunchtime......evening?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shilohWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“JUST AS GOOD AS BEFORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We initially had dinner at Solo Bistro in October of 2013 and raved about it thereafter. In April 2014 we had the opportunity to dine at Solo Bistro on a Friday night and Saturday night. The food, the service, the wine selection was just as good if not better than last time (I did not think that was possible). My Wife and I both had the hake with delicate cheese filled crepes--it was up and over the top in taste as well as presentation. On saturday evening we had a lobster dish that was very delicious and well presented. I would also recommend a dessert if you have the "room" for it. We had a blueberry/berry dish that was out of sight. Do not miss this the opportunity to dine at Solo Bistro

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gczars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solo Bistro also viewed

 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Solo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing