We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Store- lousy fried food”
Review of Gilmores Take Out - CLOSED

Gilmores Take Out
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Fish Store- lousy fried food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A $26 fish clams and scallops plate was not cooked properly, maybe the oil wasn't hot enough. Piled on top of each other everything was soggy. Too bad, lots of good fish ruined. The fries and rings were from a bag.

But the fish store has nice stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“get it while you can”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I hear a drugstore chain bought the site and they will be no more!
Buy lobster cooked to go! The haddock sandwiches are wonderful and so fresh.
If you have to eat at the picnic tables, you will hear the traffic on route 1, but it is kind of rustic... OK for a family and very casual

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inspir0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Expensive lobster rolls”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

They have great seafood very fresh. The staff is very mixed some are good others don't seem to care if you buy are not. I bought two lobster rolls it cost 32dollars I think that is expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Tried and true, great fish”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We return to Gilmore's again and again for their always very fresh fish -- their haddock basket is the best anywhere. My husband has on occasion had fried scallops, which are just as good. Gilmore's has no non-fried fish options, in case that is an issue. If you're up for friend fish, however, Gilmore's is great. They also have their fish market and we highly recommend their excellent crab cakes ($4 each) to take home and heat up in the toaster-oven.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRosettes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so many options great food!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I went in looking to buy fried haddock and found myself and my guests trying many new menu items I've never seen at another seafood restaurant! They have amazing shrimp tacos, summer salads, fried seafood, chowder and even desserts! I couldn't believe it. I ended up ordering a few meals and taking some home. Portions are big and prices are good! Definitely going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilmores Take Out also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Woolwich, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing