We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting the Belfast Bay Inn for 3 glorious days/nights. From the moment you enter the beautifully decorated lobby, until departure, you are pampered in paradise.

We have visited many B&B’s/Inns and this is by far one of the nicest in existence. This was our first time in Belfast and it won’t be our last. A hidden gem, situated ideally with a beautiful harbor only a block away to enjoy sunsets and seaside activity. Wonderful restaurants, boutiques, street art sculptures displayed throughout the town and if you enjoy architecture, this is the place for you. Every merchant and resident was friendly and what was especially nice was that this town was not “over crowded” like some seaside towns can be in the peak season. It was just right, an abundance within, yet close to many activities and nearby towns.

Our stay was just perfect. The hosts, Judy and Eddie leave nothing to chance and are truly nice and committed to providing a positive experience from beginning to end. All of the creature comforts have been anticipated and are provided. The rooms are masterfully appointed with quality furnishings, linens, mattresses, toiletries, refreshments and are spotless. Wi-Fi, refrigerators, computer table, make-up & dressing mirrors, double vanities, etc., no detail is missed. It was just what we needed – quite and comfortable. When one travels you want to stay in a place at least as nice as your own home, or nicer. The Belfast Bay Inn is exceptional.

Judy and Ed provide recommendations for restaurants, activities and are masters at gauging just what your needs are. The breakfasts are delicious & healthy. Quality fresh fruit, homemade pastry and entrée. The weather was delightful during our stay and we were able to enjoy el fresco in their beautiful, peaceful courtyard. My husband has a food allergy and they were very conscientious and accommodating from the beginning about getting it right. Bring your appetite ---- the breakfasts ARE wonderful!

We truly felt welcomed as a valued guest. We cannot imagine a nicer place to stay. We will definitely be returning and sending all our friends. Tripadvisor reviews are certainly spot-on with this property! --- Paula & Brian, Plymouth MA

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyhocksPhlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
279
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Fort Worth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Luxury accommodations located discreetly in a nondescript building on a typical main street in a quaint Maine coastal town. Everything was wonderful, quiet and relaxing. The Belfast Bay Inn is an exquisite 8-room boutique inn full of first-class necessities and details, such as a Bose Acoustic Wave alarm clock with a CD, "oh-so" luxurious linens, and soft drinks and bottled water in the suite's refrigerator. The immaculately clean suite was furnished and accessorized with a decorator's touch making it sophisticated and classy yet comfortable. The gentleman who greeted us for registration was extremely cordial and helpful. He met us at the inn's private parking lot, assisted with our luggage, showed us to our suite and then gave us the tour explaining the amenities in our rooms, offered dining options, and warmly welcomed us to Belfast and the Belfast Bay Inn. Our scrumptious breakfast was at 9:45 allowing us to sleep in and enjoy our accommodations. In the inn's secluded courtyard, we were served breakfast personally by the owners, Judy and Eddie. Breakfast was superb, beginning with a moist blueberry cake and followed by a mixed fresh fruit and yogurt parfait. The finale was with a frittata made with new potatoes, red pepper, and asparagus with Gruyere cheese. It was delicious! Judy and Eddie were interested in visiting with us and answering any questions that we had about the area...cordial and congenial. It was a delightful stay with a wonderful night's rest and morning breakfast to get us up and going the next day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzonnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Oh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was my second stay at the inn. I stayed here with my sister just to impress her!! Eddie was there that night and this was our 1st night of amonth long stay in Maine. I love this inn, it is the boutique feel that they say. The room I've stayed in was the second time and it was just as wonderful as the first time. It was on the 1st. floor with it's own patio. The courtyard reminded me of Savannah!! The room itself has fantastic beds and linens which felt great after a day of travel.
They take your order for breakfast the night before and then brings it to your room at your specific time, set it up at the dining table with beautiful linens and china. You can get lost in the bathroom, and there is plenty of closet space. If you are thinking about staying in Belfast this is the place to spoil yourself!!

Room Tip: I love being on the first floor and looking out over the courtyard. Thre is off street parking also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We recently spent a wonderful 4 nights at the Belfast Bay Inn in Belfast, ME. Everything from the luxurious linens and high end toiletries to the great location and scrumptious breakfast was perfect. Innkeepers Judy and Eddie were welcoming, friendly and saw to our every need. Definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and well worth the cost. We were participating in the annual Art in the Park and had stayed the previous two nights in another less than memorable hotel near by. We heard about the Belfast Bay Inn from visitors to the show and wanted to spend one more night in Belfast. There are great shops and wonderful restaurants all within walking distance. My husband and I will definitely stay here for next year's Art in the Park. Thank you so much, Ed, Judy and all!
Pat and Guy

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Everything from location to breakfast served in our suite was excellent. We will go out of our way to stay here whenever we travel north.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicion14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay in this superbly clean, comfortable, quiet, boutique hotel. The innkeepers, Ed and Judy, are charming, eager to please, and a very hardworking couple who easily become friends. Upon check-in we were impressed and it never stopped. Websites pictures are always more beautiful, neater, more serene, brighter, newer, etc. than the actual properties and the written descriptions always more glowing and alluring than the real thing. I found the Belfast Bay Inn website to be an honest depiction of the inn.

The excellent breakfasts were served in the courtyard, a lovely cool oasis in the center of town. The offstreet private parking lot is a wonderful perk. The entire property is immaculate. All the outside doors are locked and open with your room key. In a downtown business area, with lots of people on foot at all hours of the day and evening, this was a nice feature.

We stayed in suite 203 which has a small balcony with peeks at the water. The furnishings are well maintained, clean, and comfortable. If modern design is your style, this may not be for you as there are no sharp edges. If however, you are looking for romantic, classic, put together design with a touch of class, this is it.
We have never found a cleaner or more comfortable hotel in all our travels. We felt right at home immediately upon opening the suitcase.

We are looking for any excuse to return soon. The Belfast Bay Inn is a Select Registry property and four star AAA Diamond Award winner. It is definitely a place to spend a quiet weekend or mid week stay if you are looking for something out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Check the website for room descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.7 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.4 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Property: Belfast Bay Inn
Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing