We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European in Belfast - Belfast Bay Inn is superb !”
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“European in Belfast - Belfast Bay Inn is superb !”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wow, the owners deserve 6 stars! What looks like nothing special from the outside is a warm, family style boutique hotel with an incredible attention to the details. The owners used to manage bigger hotel with 5 star restaurant so they clearly know and love their business. The rooms are in fact little apartments with fully equipped modern kitchen, nicely decorated, spacious and absolutely spotless. Everything works, we got great local information starting from the local restaurant and things to do in town and in the area. We even got a CD to guide us on the trip to the Acadia National Park nearby. The best is a breakfast which is a homemade, delicious creation served in the room or in the back garden. Belfast Inn is a true gem, lovely and totally unexpected.

Room Tip: Just stay there if you are in the area, worth every penny :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tq0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
279
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

All is great in Belfast Bay Inn. From the welcome service, through the rooms, somehow unique et cozy but truly comfortable, to all round experience. The owners are there for you, wiht advice and worm word. They readily give you info about the area, national parcs (a must is Acadia about 1.5h from Belfast, a full day trip), restaurants, walks. Breakfast is served outside on the patio if weather permits or in your room, at prearranged time, if not. All fresh, maily bio products, quite a rarity overall in the US. Highly recommended on your way in Maine.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice in my mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We've been to 43 countries around the world, mostly staying in five star luxury hotels (Four Seasons, Ritz, Park Hyatt) and this Inn, centrally located in down town Belfast, is really superb. The suites are so nice, roomy, and well appointed that you could live there. We were delighted with every aspect of our stay. The beds are very comfortable, lovely high quality sheets, very quiet at night. The kitchen and living room were spacious and really nicely decorated. We just stayed in Paris in a hotel that was $2000 a night, and it wasn't half as nice. The Inn was ranked top ten in the US, I think, so now I need to see where the other 9 are. Belfast has a lot going on also, nice coastal Maine Harbor town with a busy marina, lots of cute shops, local restaurants, and beautiful New England 1800's homes and churches to view.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

From the outside, the place looks like a commercial office building. Step inside and your world is turned upside down. Your hosts greet you like a long lost friend and then you see your room or should I say rooms. AAA booked us on this trip and I didn't do my normal research and I was not quite prepared for what our rooms looked like. My wife and I were treated to a huge comfortable bedroom with all the amenities you could want. There was a full kitchen and a 4 seat breakfast table, a living room and a small desk area. If the weather was more promising, we would have eaten in the garden at the back of the Inn. Instead, we had to settle for a full breakfast delivered to our room on time and delicious. I would have loved to stay more nights but it was onto Bal Harbor and the rest of our trip. if you are planning to be in this area for multiple nights, you should have no reservations about staying here. it is first class.

Room Tip: There are three rooms to a floor. You have a choice between the second or third floor. There was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Enjoyed a lovely one-night stay at the Belfast Bay Inn while in the area for a wedding in Stockton Springs. The rooms are exquisite - King bed very comfy - bathrooms with marble vanities, dual sinks - lovely living room w/ flat screen TV and adjoining kitchen with new stainless steal appliances. Breakfast was top notch starting with vanilla yogurt topped with Maine blueberries, sliced apple cake, a plate with veggie quiche, sliced watermelon and exotic pear. Ed & Judy know what they are doing - they are doing it absolutely right. We would love to stay at the Inn again sometime in the future - top notch B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

What a lovely place to stay. The room was absolutely wonderful and I wish we could have stayed more than one night. The location is perfect for walking around the town. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

On a whim we booked a one night stay for our anniversary, we were not disappointed. The Boutique hotel was absolutly lovely. The room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The owners were genuinely nice and very knowledgable of the area. The seaport town of Belfast is quaint and the locals are very nice. I only wished we stayed longer. We will next time. We had a great stay and would recommend it to all of our friends.
Kathy and Bill

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
15.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Property: Belfast Bay Inn
Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing