We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!”
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Rumford, Rhode Island
1 review
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent last weekend "Down East" and stayed at this beautiful boutique hotel. It is as grand as it looks in photos. The attention to details was impressive; plush bathrobes, full sized kitchen, amazingly comfortable bed, and homemade frittata and sweet bread for breakfast! Belfast is a great little town and an easy gateway to Acadia National Park and Camden. Ed and Judy are very accomplished hosts!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 202. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
284
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our first stay at the Belfast Bay Inn. I had originally seen an article about it on Chronicle which reviews hotels, inns, restaurants, etc. in the New England area. After that I checked out reviews on the Internet and made a reservation. I was somewhat skeptical of it being as good as it appeared, but after walking in the door I knew I was going to love it. I formally worked for the airlines, and have done a lot of traveling and always stayed at top rated hotels. But I have to say that this place, as well as the actual accomodations and the Innkeepers themselves were all the best I have ever experienced. We stayed in room 303 which was as large as an apartment and half the size of our house. It even had a doorbell for when the Innkeepers delivered our breakfast, which was outstanding. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nicest B & B we have ever stayed. I found it on trip advisor. The rooms were basically apartments, beautifully decorated and attention obviously paid to details! The hosts were very nice and helpful. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our second stay at Belfast Bay Inn. Once again we were guests of outstanding innkeepers with an exceptional property. We enjoyed the town, walked the new path on Penobscot Bay and had a delightful, homemade breakfast served by appointment in our suite. The Suite is large and beautifully decorated with a wall of windows and a balcony overlooking the Main street down to the Bay. Extensive details such as Hardwood floors, lavish linens, granite tops, double sinks in the full size bath, beautiful artwork throughout and excellent HVAC controls. Judy, the innkeeper has a shop off the lobby filled with wonderful gifts.
Thank you Judy and Ed for a wonderful stay, your hospitality and beautiful inn are truly memorable! Sincerely, Danny and Charlotte

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We just experienced 3 nights of what is probably the best B&B (boutique hotel as the owners call it) in the U.S. if I could rate Belfast Bay Inn a "6", to put it above other places we stayed at, we would have done so. We could live permantly in the spacious 900 square foot suite with original oil paintings, fantastic bed, large bath, kitchen (minus stove), and living room. The attention to the smallest detail is amazing including soundproofed walls and floors. Well worth the price! Ed and Judy are the most friendly, gracious hosts you will find anywhere. They will bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. The breakfasts delivered personally by Ed and Judy were out of this world and unique all 3 days. The Belfast Bay Inn is centrally located in the historic city of Belfast and is steps away from shopping and restaurants. My wife and I can't come up with enough accolades for the Belfast Bay Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Belfast Bay Inn for two nights in August and we truly enjoyed our stay. Belfast is a sleepy Maine seaside town with an active harbor, lots of shops, restaurants, etc. While the town does not have a lot of high end restaurants, The Belfast Bay Inn is truly 5 Star! The Inkeepers are wonderful and the breakfast was home cooked and delicious. The accomodations were spacious and comfortable with all high end finishes. The Inn is also quiet, impeccably clean and well maintained. Finally, Belfast is only about an hour drive north to Bar Harbor or south to Camden, which makes it a great location for day trips. We highly recommend this beautiful Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed only one night at the inn because we were passing through on our way North, but what a wonderful night! We were absolutely stunned by the very high quality of the accomodations! The room was incredibly spacious and well decorated. The innkeepers were gracious and attentive. Breakfast was delicious! While not inexpensive, we felt very comfortable that the hotel lived up to our expectations and exceeded them! It was worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
11.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
15.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Property: Belfast Bay Inn
Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing