We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this immaculate, attractive inn. Our suite (room 301) was generous in size and outfitted with everything we needed for a comfortable stay--cozy furniture in the living area; a microwave, coffee/tea service, and refrigerator in the kitchen area; a dinette for two; an elegant bathroom with a rainforest shower and tub; and a stupendous bedroom with the most amazingly comfortable bed, duvet, sheets, and sitting area. The living area looks out over town and the harbor, and the bedroom sitting area has a small view of the water as well.

Breakfast is served either in your room, outside on the terrace when the weather is nice, or in a dining area in the B&B. The food is homemade and delicious. We had juice, fritatta, and spice bread with raisins.

The inn provides wireless interneet at no charge, as well as interesting magazines about Maine, and a wide selection of tv stations. It is located right in the heart of town with instant access to the fun boutiques and restaurants of Belfast. The harbor is two blocks away, and there are lots of interesting seaside and town walks available for those who like to explore on foot.

Ed and Judy, the innkeepers, are very friendly and professional.

This is an A+ hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
284
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you enjoy a large, spotlessly clean and comfortable environment, a bed you can sink your teeth into, nth degree thread count sheets and towels, plus every creature comfort in the book and then some, than this is the place for you. My husband and I have been all over the world and I'm adept at finding secret and not-so-secret gems, but the Belfast Bay Inn takes the cake -- and the calories too. First of all, you're not going to find a more lovely "room," anywhere and by that I mean, all the rooms are suites, complete with a sumptuously comfortable living room and bedroom. Breakfast is served on the patio in good weather and in your suite, when the weather just won't do. If I have a criticism, and believe me, this is beyond picky, it would be to tell the innkeepers, Judy and Ed, to send up two carafes of coffee with breakfast, instead of just one. Of course, one can always call down to the front desk to ask for more, but a review should have at least one suggestion for improvement, so this is ours -- more coffee please. Breakfast is a culinary delight, all restaurant recommendations for dinner were terrific (mid-coast Maine is a foodie destination -- who knew?), and the innkeepers themselves couldn't be warmer or more accommodating. In all honesty, I hate to put the word out, because I want there to be room for us when we go back (and go back we will!), but the Belfast Bay Inn is a true gem -- the kind of place you keep on going to back to, simply because.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the "rooms," aka suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0nnieb00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Rooms are large and incredibly comfortable with attention to every detail. Hosts could not be nicer, are very knowledgeable about the area and help make the most of your visit. Location is great -- easy walk to waterfront, restaurants and shops. Short drive to other interesting towns. A real winner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobalouCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The inn is situated in the centre of Belfast, near shops, restaurants and the water front. Belfast is a lovely town with a lot of charming buildings from the 1880'2 to 1930's. The inn matches this and is a lovely place to stay. What we liked about the inn are the spacious rooms with an excellent light plan. You can read everywhere. The bathroom and the dressing area are also of generous proportions so we felt fine during our three days stay. Breakfast ids served in the courtyard and one day we had it in our room because the weather was poor.
We liked the attention to detail which was apparent in the inn and which makes a visit extra pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rijswijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My sister and I spent a delightful night at the Belfast Bay Inn this week. The Inn had been recommended to us so we knew it would be a good place to stay, but it far exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail, from the amazingly comfortable beds to the beautiful furnishings and outstanding breakfast, everything was perfect. The lovely couple who run the inn were both friendly and helpful and they made us feel right at home. I look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumford, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent last weekend "Down East" and stayed at this beautiful boutique hotel. It is as grand as it looks in photos. The attention to details was impressive; plush bathrobes, full sized kitchen, amazingly comfortable bed, and homemade frittata and sweet bread for breakfast! Belfast is a great little town and an easy gateway to Acadia National Park and Camden. Ed and Judy are very accomplished hosts!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 202. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our first stay at the Belfast Bay Inn. I had originally seen an article about it on Chronicle which reviews hotels, inns, restaurants, etc. in the New England area. After that I checked out reviews on the Internet and made a reservation. I was somewhat skeptical of it being as good as it appeared, but after walking in the door I knew I was going to love it. I formally worked for the airlines, and have done a lot of traveling and always stayed at top rated hotels. But I have to say that this place, as well as the actual accomodations and the Innkeepers themselves were all the best I have ever experienced. We stayed in room 303 which was as large as an apartment and half the size of our house. It even had a doorbell for when the Innkeepers delivered our breakfast, which was outstanding. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
11.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
15.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Property: Belfast Bay Inn
Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing