We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.”
Review of The Gull Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gull Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
lilibird
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find.”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have been traveling for decades along route 1 in Maine with our dogs and always felt like we were settling for a hotel that would take all of us. This motel is clean, friendly and so affordable! We got 2 rooms for the price of one at the others in the area. Owners are accommodating and friendly. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. Some rooms take pets and others don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Every year I lead a motorcycle trip for a group of friends, this year we decided to take a ride from Wi. and head out to Maine for a lobster dinner and some scenic riding, After surfing the internet and making numerous phone calls I ended up speaking to Peter Friend the owner of the Gull motel,I explained I needed 10 rooms to accomidate my group,clean and price was a big concern . Peter replied he would be happy to host my group, we talked about my needs and exchanged e mail address's, he then sent me a agreement in writing including expense that we agreed on to avoid any confusion. he told me to call him anytime with questions about the area etc. When we arrived in July he backed up everthing we agreed on and our group of 25 enjoyed their stay in a clean friendly motel and became friends with Peter and Puzz

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks for the positive review, not only of the cleanliness and hospitality here at the Gull Motel in Belfast, but also of our dealings with groups. We maintain regular and frequent communication with group organizers to accommodate their changing needs as check-in day approaches.
The Gull Motel's layout makes it an ideal location for motorcyles and cyclists alike and we can cater for groups needing up to 14 rooms. We also offer excellent mid-week rates during the season.
Bikers--you are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We really appreciated the hospitality you displayed to us on our recent stay. Our room was clean and comfortable and made us feel like we were in a vintage motel on old Route 66 out west . Thanks so much for a nice overnight stay. It is very refreshing that some places still offer just an overnight stay while others require several nights. Again, reminiscent of motels/hotels of the past.

Thanks again -
Dave, Kelly, and Tyler Rolfe

Room Tip: These folks will allow a one night stay whereas other area hotels required minimum 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear David,, Kelly and Tyler,

The staff and I wish to send our sincerest appreciation for your positive comments about your stay. This is our reward for the hard work we've done to provide a traditional motel experience for our guests that also meets current standards.

With kind regards,

Peter F., owner/manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter NH
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We wanted to stay in Rockland, but it was Lobster Festival and we needed a room last minute, so we stayed 45 minutes away in Belfast, at the Gull Motel. The rate was fair for this time of year, but I would spend a little more and stay at a nicer place next time. However, if you are on a budget, this motel was clean and we had two queen beds, night tables, a bureau, a small dining table, a fridge, an open closet to hang clothes, a suitcase stand, and small but serviceable bathroom. Our tub/shower combination had some kind of plumbing issue and leaked water all over the floor the first morning. we used towels to prevent this the second morning, but hope they fix this problem!! We mentioned a burned out lightbulb and it was replaced before we returned that evening. We stayed two nights. There is a Keurig coffee machine and pre-packaged muffins in the lobby in the morning, so not really 'breakfast'. We highly recommend the Belfast Co-op for breakfast and a nice selection of organic meats and cheeses, by the way. I agree with the other reviews that the policy of allowing smoking just outside the rooms is offensive to the non-smoking guests! The motel puts ashtrays and chairs outside each door - this is a motel, so we had people smoking 3 feet from our windows! I understand that they do not want smoking in the rooms, of course, but if they want to designate a smoking area, it should be away from the doors/windows of other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExeterNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Exeter/Nina,

Thanks for taking the time to write your lengthy and detailed review of our motel. The minor plumbing issue has been resolved and was not as serious as thought.

The issue of non-smoking guests having to suffer other guests' cigarette smoke is a difficult and challenging one, which we are determined to address.

As a result of your and other comments, we have designated our only two upstairs rooms as non-smoking, both inside and out..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed for two nights. Room clean. Rates fair for this time of year, I am sure they drop by a large amount in winter which is why I hate to travel on business in summer in Vacationland! The only minus, folks on either side of our room sitting outside smoking themselves silly as the rooms are smoke free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Tiquer,

We appreciate the positive comments about our rates and cleanliness. Our winter rates are as low as $59 per night and we offer a weekly rate of as low as $225.00.

In future, we will do our best to place non-smokers where they will be least affected by this problem. We have two upstairs rooms which will be designated as non-smoking rooms, both inside and out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A very clean and comfortable motal with very reasonable rates a very, very enjoyable weeks stay

Room Tip: If you can book a room there you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCoastUSA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great location motel with very frienly owners.
The room was large DOG FRIENDLY and clean!
The bathroom was large enough, not spacious but
large enough. We travel to the Common Ground
Fair every year from MA and this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastryFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.1 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gull Motel

Property: The Gull Motel
Address: 196 Searsport Ave, US Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7110
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gull Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gull Motel is a clean, affordable and friendly motel on Route 1 in Belfast, Maine. It's a hour's drive from I-95 and just over an hour from Acadia National Park. All of our 14 non-smoking rooms come with air conditioning, heating, fridge,microwave,cable TV, secure wi-fi internet access and telephones with free local calls. All our rooms have queen beds, most have water views. Complimentary K-cup coffee and muffins are served in the lobby from 6:00AM to 10AM daily.The Gull is just a few minutes drive from Belfast's historic downtown and waterfront, with its many specialty shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gull Motel Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing