We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gull Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gull Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and very reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is the typical Mom and Pop motel of the 1960's, except for the Friends, the owner. They were very nice and were very helpful. We stayed for a week and got the weekly discount which is absolutely cheap. The room was clean, roomy and had a mini fridge and micro wave. The bath room was a little small but not a problem, if you are over 6 feet tall just sit sideways. Our only concern was that the room smelled a little musty. But the owners were helpful in attempting to find a solution. We will be back hopefully soon, Belfast is just a great place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdcpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our stay at the Gull motel was a good one. Friendly owner,Nice clean rooms and its always nice when you get a room and there is a small fridge & microwave.The only bad thing i can say about our visit is couldnt see the ocean. To many trees and a building in the way.But over all we enjoyed it and loved your town of Belfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Gull Motel is among even my earliest memories of Belfast in the 50+ years that my family has traveled to visit my mother's childhood home. It is a quaint "vintage" motel, but with some modern upgrades, such as wi-fi; and unlike the fancy, expensive hotels, you don't even have to pay extra for it. Peter Friend is aptly named and the goodies in the morning are another added treat. If you need a friendly, comfortable place to stay in Belfast, without a lot of frills, the Gull Motel is a great option!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomVisitor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

For our first wenk-end in USA, this motel was very clean and the owner is so friendly ! We had a nice view over sea from our room ! This is very easy too find and we could surf the internet !
I recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilibird
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have been traveling for decades along route 1 in Maine with our dogs and always felt like we were settling for a hotel that would take all of us. This motel is clean, friendly and so affordable! We got 2 rooms for the price of one at the others in the area. Owners are accommodating and friendly. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. Some rooms take pets and others don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosinee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Every year I lead a motorcycle trip for a group of friends, this year we decided to take a ride from Wi. and head out to Maine for a lobster dinner and some scenic riding, After surfing the internet and making numerous phone calls I ended up speaking to Peter Friend the owner of the Gull motel,I explained I needed 10 rooms to accomidate my group,clean and price was a big concern . Peter replied he would be happy to host my group, we talked about my needs and exchanged e mail address's, he then sent me a agreement in writing including expense that we agreed on to avoid any confusion. he told me to call him anytime with questions about the area etc. When we arrived in July he backed up everthing we agreed on and our group of 25 enjoyed their stay in a clean friendly motel and became friends with Peter and Puzz

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks for the positive review, not only of the cleanliness and hospitality here at the Gull Motel in Belfast, but also of our dealings with groups. We maintain regular and frequent communication with group organizers to accommodate their changing needs as check-in day approaches.
The Gull Motel's layout makes it an ideal location for motorcyles and cyclists alike and we can cater for groups needing up to 14 rooms. We also offer excellent mid-week rates during the season.
Bikers--you are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We really appreciated the hospitality you displayed to us on our recent stay. Our room was clean and comfortable and made us feel like we were in a vintage motel on old Route 66 out west . Thanks so much for a nice overnight stay. It is very refreshing that some places still offer just an overnight stay while others require several nights. Again, reminiscent of motels/hotels of the past.

Thanks again -
Dave, Kelly, and Tyler Rolfe

Room Tip: These folks will allow a one night stay whereas other area hotels required minimum 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear David,, Kelly and Tyler,

The staff and I wish to send our sincerest appreciation for your positive comments about your stay. This is our reward for the hard work we've done to provide a traditional motel experience for our guests that also meets current standards.

With kind regards,

Peter F., owner/manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.3 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Jeweled Turret Inn
The Jeweled Turret Inn
#1 of 6 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gull Motel

Property: The Gull Motel
Address: 196 Searsport Ave, US Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7110
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gull Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gull Motel is a clean, affordable and friendly motel on Route 1 in Belfast, Maine. It's a hour's drive from I-95 and just over an hour from Acadia National Park. All of our 14 non-smoking rooms come with air conditioning, heating, fridge,microwave,cable TV, secure wi-fi internet access and telephones with free local calls. All our rooms have queen beds, most have water views. Complimentary K-cup coffee and muffins are served in the lobby from 6:00AM to 10AM daily.The Gull is just a few minutes drive from Belfast's historic downtown and waterfront, with its many specialty shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gull Motel Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing