We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, service lacking”

Delvino's Grill & Pasta House
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service lacking”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We tried to go here about a year ago. It was a little busy so we put our name on the list and gave a number. We were told 20 minutes to wait so we went to a bar across the street. 30 minutes passed and no call, so we went back over and they said another 20 minutes. We could clearly see that people below us on the list had been seated and we weren't called. We went back later and our table still wasn't ready so we said never mind.

Upon rave reviews from a friend we went back to try it again, the hostess was just as confused as last time, and told us 15-20 minutes even though the place was pretty empty. She didn't take our name and just walked away. We stood in the doorway for a couple minutes and then asked if we could sit at the bar while we waited. She stared at her reservation book with a lot of confusion and said I have a table if you want to sit now. She just had no clue what she was talking about. Anyway, we sat and finally ate some fantastic food. Our waitress was very quiet and didn't even tell us the specials. Service was lack luster but the food was sooo good! Get the ravioli!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Wallace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    116
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not go back to this place”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stopped in for lunch as we were traveling through Belfast after reading the glowing online reviews. The place was almost empty on a Saturday in July -- we should have known something wasn't right.

He had a sausage sandwich, which was bland and basically "meh". His fries were better, but not spectacular. However, my "Cajun Queen" salad -- a Caesar salad with spicy chicken -- was completely inedible. And I'm not a picky eater.

The salad came with a few tiny slivers of chicken that were shriveled, dry, and not even close to being fresh. The lettuce was wilted and sour, and tasted as if it had come out of a bag about two days before, which was probably about the same time the chicken was cooked. As for the "home made croutons" mentioned on the menu -- I counted exactly two. The one I tried to eat was like sawdust.

The worst part? As we got ready to leave, the server finally noticed that I hadn't touched my food. When I told her why, she just looked at me blankly and slapped down the check. No apology, no offer to make it right...nothing. It was almost funny -- she totally didn't care. Guess we now have a worst-vacation-lunch-ever story to tell our friends!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastport, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Belfast”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have eaten lunch here several times. Always good food, great service and a pleasant atmosphere. No water view for the tourist, but right in the heart of the shopping area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary2332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bistro service and food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We like the brick interior with cozy atmosphere, the service which is calm, knowledgeable, and friendly, and the choices of wine, the specials, and regular dinners. Seared fresh tuna with wasabi and sesame is delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stoped in for lunch and had a great meal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back any time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank da3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delvino's Grill & Pasta House also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Delvino's Grill & Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing