We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort style room in a vintage roadside motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Resort style room in a vintage roadside motel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The owners of this motel get it. Provide a clean, modern, comfortable room with modern amenities in a vintage roadside motel...All at a reasonable price. Walking distance to Belfast and centrally located to explore coastal Maine.

The exterior is classic roadside Americana and immaculately maintained. The rooms have HARDWOOD FLOORS!!!!, and rival most of the upscale chain hotels. All new modern furnishings, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, strong WiFi, beautifully appointed modern bathroom...It is one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in regardless of price...And immaculately clean.

Take a break from the motel/hotel chains and enjoy a classic roadside motel...its refreshing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    49
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
95
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Beautifully renovated, Pottery Barnish style decor, spotlessly clean, affordable motel. Very comfortable bed and linens, nice sized fridge, quiet AC. Great stop for one night. A fairly close walk to the bridge that takes you into Belfast, although the street to get there is quite busy. Only wish would be that there was some quiet outdoor space here-but alas, no. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Clean room, well equipped, bargain rate in an often overpriced region - especially during high vacation travel. The motel appeared to have been remodeled recently. A very good value. I was very satisfied with the Yankee Clipper before I arrived. I arrived in town with a bike group and had to transport my bike and luggage to the motel. When I called the motel for assistance the manager offered to give me, my bike and baggage a ride in his pick up truck from the port area. He also dropped me off in the morning to rejoin the group. A much appreciated courtesy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Booked this at the last minute rather than stay at a chain property on the I95.
We were very happy with this little gem of a motel. It is based on the bare bones of an old style motel but step inside the rooms and you'll find a clean, contemporary hotel room with pretty much everything you could need for a short stay. Everything worked as it should do (such as lights, TV, AC etc) and everything was spotlessly clean. THe bed was very comfortable as well.
Apparanetly it's a shortish walk (20-30 mins) across the footbridge over the river to get to the quaint little town of Belfast itself.
We had dinner at the Lobster pond just across the road and down the lane from the motel. Very simple, very cheap and probably our most memorable meal of the trip.
Would happily stay here again for location, quality and price, if anything they underprice themselves!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel looked a little basic on Google Earth, but was a very pleasant surprise. Recently purchased by a couple, the building has undergone a complete remodel. Hard wood floors, new very comfortable furniture, modern bathrooms and parking at the front door!! AC was very efficient and quiet. GREAT location just off the main road but no noise from the road. Pleasant staff. And a great value compared to the B&B's in the area. Would highly recommend for a night or a week.
Young's Lobster Pound is a five minute walk towards the bay and was the best experience we had with lobsters during our week's trip up the coast of Maine. However, take your own glasses and cork screw as well a wine, etc. Other guests shared with us for both items, but you can't guarantee that you will meet such pleasant guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
376 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have discovered that sometimes when you bring up availability of motels up on TA - you will be misinformed that there are no rooms available. This is because of a tie in with sites like Expedia - who want your business. This happened today & fortunately I contacted the motel itself. They had a room. So beware!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a very clean and modern motel. The staff is friendly. The rooms look just like the photos on the website. We only stayed for 1 night as a stopover to Bar Harbor but would have been happy to stay longer. We stayed at a big hotel chain the previous night while in Mystic CT and the room wasn't horrible but it wasn't good either. The Yankee Clipper Motel raises the bar!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.4 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.3 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#7 of 8 in Belfast
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Motel

Property: Yankee Clipper Motel
Address: 50 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7219
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Clipper Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yankee Clipper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Motel Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing