We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Alden House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alden House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Belfast B&B and Inns
Maine
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Looking for a quick getaway, we booked this B&B at the last minuit and headed up the coast of Maine. There are really only two or three B&B's in Belfast but there are a lot of budget and up motels in the area. This was within walking distance of the waterfront and a beautiful, well-kept building. Lots of architectural period pieces and structural uniqueness.

Hosts, Larry and Rose, were terrific and breakfast was excellent including homemade bread.
Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We had only first floor room next to breakfast area so sleeping past 8am might be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TotallyRelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for more comfy pillows, engaging owners or creative breakfast. Very clean and comfortable. Enjoy all of the very quiet Belfast from the central location. The well maintained house is a couple of blocks from downtown. Excellent

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank peijade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Rose and Larry were refurbishing their lovely house but honoured our reservation, so were were upgraded, and were the only guests. A welcoming and comfortable ambience, with a library available to guests, and a great breakfast. They also pointed us to Young's Lobster Pound for a memorable fresh lobster dinner, We much enjoyed being at Alden House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having visited Belfast Ireland in April, and in that we spend time in "the great state of Maine" every summer, we decided to spend a few days in Belfast. We had lunched there a few years before, on our way back from Blue Hill, and remembered that it just seemed charming. We searched for a centrally located inn or B&B and found an excellent option - The Alden House Inn. Beautifully refurbished by Rose Cyr and Larry Marshall, the inn (which serves a great breakfast, late afternoon lemonade this place is welcoming, comfortable and utterly relaxing. Larry Marshall is a storehouse of New England centric information. Both cordial and knowledgeable she shares what he knows and makes every effort to make you fell welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully appointed with various options. Located on a quiet street and withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobaltmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We've been lucky to enjoy many great New England B&Bs. To date, the Alden House is the only one I have written a review for. The physical inn is authentic, charming and clean. The hosts---Larry and Rose and staff---are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious and inventive---I think they incorporate some of their family favourites with traditional. We had a wonderful stay and, if you enjoy a genuine B&B experience, you will, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannonball_Adderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I were in Maine for a family wedding. After the nuptial festivities in a large hotel in Bar Harbor, we were delighted to have 3 nights in a comfortable, historic inn. The accommodations and hospitality at The Alden House exceeded our expectations. Rose and Larry are lovely hosts, and take great pride in the breakfasts they serve. The meals were fabulous: fresh, unique, delicious. We would visit The Alden House again in a heartbeat.
Lois & Doug
Leavenworth, Washington

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay in Belfast, Maine, I highly recommend the Alden House. My husband and I stayed there last year and decided to return this year with our children and my husband's parents.

Again, we had a comfortable stay in this lovely Greek Revival inn, which is tastefully decorated and situated close to downtown Belfast. The innkeepers, Rose and Larry are very knowledgeable and friendly hosts, who we've enjoyed chatting with, and who were able to help us with recommendations for places to go and restaurants.

The breakfasts are superb, made from fresh local ingredients and home made baked goods. Everyday is something different and special.

All in all, its a wonderful experience staying at this beautiful inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
0.3 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.7 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Inn

Property: Alden House Inn
Address: 63 Church St, Belfast, ME 04915-6208 (Formerly Alden House B&B)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfort meets historic elegance at the Alden House. We feature attentive service, spacious grounds and delicious food with locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alden House Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing