We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jeweled Turret Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Jeweled Turret Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Belfast B&B and Inns
Providence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Very old victorian style house. Our room was a tad strange because the bathroom in it was only behind a wrap around curtain (no actual door or walls). But the room itself was big with plenty of light. The owners are also very nice. Belfast itself is a decent little tourist town - still a little ways to go, but you can always head down to Camden if you want something a little bigger and nicer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkins86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

It is stated clearly in the room details that the bathroom is in the room and if this is not for you then choose another room in this high quality establishment and the breakfasts are the best I have ever had, either in a small B & B or high end hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonmin_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here on a visit to the area with my sister May 2012. I stayed in the Opal room and she was in the Topaz. The first thing I would say is HOW CLEAN the whole place was! Not a speck of dust in sight, and that's hard to do in a place full of antiques and curios. Cathy made wonderful breakfasts all three mornings and was flexible about times. She and her husband Carl were both helpful with things like recommendations, directions and even printing our boarding passes (there is excellent wi-fi, but no common computer or printer). The sitting areas are plentiful and pleasant--the back veranda was my favorite, and even it was spotlessly clean. Read the room descriptions, as you would at any B & B, and pick the configuration that works for you. Belfast is a great little town to mosey around. I went to Bar Harbour one day and found Belfast preferable. The only thing that disturbed my sleep was how early the sun rises here--4:45! I had no idea. Still I loved being able to sleep with the window open.

Room Tip: The Opal room has a private bath with whirlpool tub/shower combination. The Topaz just has a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Plus: Charming old victorian inside and out. OK breakfast. Quiet location. clean
Negative: I always wanted to spend a night in the turret room of an old victorian but for me this was a mistake to try it. The bathroom is IN THE ROOM with only a curtain for privacy. If you are with a companion you better both be perfectly comfortable with bathroom noises and odors. Otherwise... AWKWARD!! Breakfast was not memorable but OK. Chock-a-block full of antiques which is OK with me but may be over the top for some.
Summary: The town is a snooze fest. Blink and you missed it. Depressed as well. In other words this is no destination but may be a good choice if passing through,you skip the turret room and you like victorianna. Owners may be selling soon so check but she tries to be fair with guests so it may not matter. I rated it very good because of the quiet location and clean room in spite of the lack of privacy as other rooms may be fine that way.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00justthefacts00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in the least expensive room. It was fine, but certainly small (and right next to the main door entrance). This inn was decorated in a victorian style -- too much stuff for our taste. In addition, if you have an allergy or sensitivity to perfume, the sheets held a strong scent. The breakfast was well done. The inn is VERY centrally located (5 minute walk into town) and we had a great time in Belfast town center.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

There are B&Bs galore along the Maine coast, and we stayed at three of them during a September trip to Maine. The Jeweled Turret is easy to miss. It's in Belfast, not far from Acadia, but not in Bar Harbor, or Ogunquit, two other towns with many B&B offerings. This B&B had the most welcoming common areas of the places where we stayed, which gave us ample opportunity to mingle with other guests. You can choose to be on either of the outdoor porches, or a cozy room in the back of the inn with a handmade fireplace containing stones from every state in the union. Breakfast was excellent, and included that often missing item - protein! We didn't meet Carl, but Cathy is a gracious hostess who works very hard to see that her guests are comfortable and happy. We used it as a stop on the way to Acadia, but it could easily be a destination for trips to nearby attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a nice place in Belfast. Walking distance to downtown. It is a nicely appointed >100 yr old home. If you like antiques, this is the place for you. Each room is decked out with nicely done antiques. The personal touch was missing - and we felt like hotel guests - not really B&B guests. Nice place though.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSBinID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.2 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
15.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jeweled Turret Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jeweled Turret Inn

Property: The Jeweled Turret Inn
Address: 40 Pearl St, Belfast, ME 04915-6330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jeweled Turret Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Queen Anne Victorian bed & breakfast in the heart of Belfast's historic district on quiet side street, a block from Penobscot Bay. Stroll to historic Main Street shops, harbor, cafes, galleries, theaters, and parks. Named for the stain glass turret that encases the oak spiraling staircase. Lounge on one of our two columned verandas with wicker porch furniture, bistro sets and porch swing overlooking beautiful gardens and historic homes. Ornate woodwork, fireplaces, antiques, and Victorian decor add to the magic of The Jeweled Turret Inn. Seven romantic luxury guest chambers with A/C and fans, 4-poster, iron & brass beds, private baths with "English Spa" toiletries; some with turrets, fireplaces, whirlpools. Gourmet breakfasts, refreshments, evening crackers, cheese, sherry. Day trips to Acadia National Park, lighthouses, islands, breath-taking sailing cruises. "Smell the sea air; explore the beauty of coast and islands... visit the charms of historic Belfast, Maine!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Jeweled Turret Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jeweled Turret Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing