We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jeweled Turret Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a lovely 2 nights at The Jeweled Turret. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Our expectations were exceeded in all respects. We will stay there again when in Belfast, Maine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first visit to Maine and we had selected this B&B due to its proximity of area attractions. Upon arriving after a day of travel we were met by Innkeeper Cathy who showed us around the property and then to our room. We were invited down for an aperitif of sherry & cheese and received a dinner recommendation from Innkeeper Carl. The B&B is within walking distance from downtown Belfast so we walked to the restaurant where we had a wonderful dinner. After dinner and walking around Belfast we came back to the inn and relaxed in our room before turning in for the night. We had the Topaz Turret room and it was wonderfully restored and beautifully furnished. The next morning we were treated to a gourmet breakfast that was gluten free at our request. We made the request when making the reservation and Cathy had no issues with accommodating us. Our stay was very enjoyable and we would recommend this inn to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have visited The Jeweled Turret on several occasions and have never been disappointed, the rooms are cozy, the beds so comfortable, the standard of cleanliness second to none, the breakfasts are all freshly cooked and delicious, the common rooms are welcoming and a nice place to catch up with your fellow guests, as you can tell we like it and it has set a very high standard for the rest and very few come up to this level. Cathy & Carl are very professional in the way that the Inn is run, the perfect Inn Keepers, with a good knowledge of the local area with things to do and places to visit, it the whole package and very few places are this good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonmin_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We toured much of the Maine coast from Rockland to Bar Harbor and we were glad we chose Belfast as our base. A nice town with plenty of dining choices without being too touristy! The Jeweled Turret is a lovely, historic house, full of character and tastefully restored by Cathy & Carl, who live on the premises. It is located in a quiet side street within walking distance of the town centre with off-street parking for guests. Our king room was very comfortable and clean with a good size bathroom. The breakfasts were great. Cathy's scones are first class and Carl is a very entertaining host! It is nice to sit down with other guests at breakfast for a chat before heading out for the day. There were drink making facilities in the dining room and complimentary cheese, crackers and sherry around 5pm each day. There is a lounge where you can sit and read the tourist information to help you plan the next day's excursion and also a separate TV room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had been planning to take a trip to Maine for quite a few years and the time was finally right. After deciding to stay in Belfast due to its proximity to the coast and to several interesting attractions (Acadia, Camden, Bar Harbor), we began to read the Tripadvisor reviews for lodging. The Jeweled Turret Inn was ranked highly and rightly so. Everything was perfect. Travel was easy, the room was delightful; clean, comfortable, private. Our fellow travelers were from England, California and Nashville offering a great variety of conversation topics at breakfast. And the breakfasts! My, my, I have never eaten so well. Cathy and Carl are wonderful hosts, offering many suggestions for our visit. Belfast, itself, is charming with friendly, helpful people. The yarn shop, library, dock, bookstore, and Food co-op were all within walking distance. Even the laundrymat, decorated with Halloween lights and many pumpkins, reflected the care and effort of the community to make Belfast a great place to vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose48162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our hostess made us feel welcome right away with a sherry, crackers and cheese reception for all guests - a good chance to meet new people and socialize. Breakfast was delicious, with the best scones we'd eaten in 2 weeks of travel. The location is good and the town is charming without the huge crowds of more touristy cities. A great place to spend the night!
However - the rooms were tiny and over-decorated. Every shelf had so many knick-knacks that there was no room to put anything, and the red lampshade with "crystal" decorations over the bed made the room look like a bordello.
Go for the nice people and the good food - just don't faint when you see the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this inn. Carl and Cathy, the owners, were most hospitable; offering recommendations and advice on the area. The location is great ... within walking distance of downtown and around the corner from the Belfast Library (you should stop in to this beautiful library). Rooms at the Inn are spotless and comfortable. The Inn is a feast for the eye with antiques and collectibles everywhere. The flowers outside were in full bloom. Perhaps the best part was the fabulous breakfast each morning with the freshest of fruit, fresh baked scones and muffins and a new treat each day from Belgian Waffles to Blueberry Pancakes. Fresh orange juice in the morning and lemonade in the afternoon. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: All rooms were unique. Could not say one was better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.7 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
8.5 mi away
Point Lookout
Point Lookout
#1 of 1 in Northport
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jeweled Turret Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jeweled Turret Inn

Address: 40 Pearl St, Belfast, ME 04915-6330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £119 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jeweled Turret Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Queen Anne Victorian bed & breakfast in the heart of Belfast's historic district on quiet side street, a block from Penobscot Bay. Stroll to historic Main Street shops, harbor, cafes, galleries, theaters, and parks. Named for the stain glass turret that encases the oak spiraling staircase. Lounge on one of our two columned verandas with wicker porch furniture, bistro sets and porch swing overlooking beautiful gardens and historic homes. Ornate woodwork, fireplaces, antiques, and Victorian decor add to the magic of The Jeweled Turret Inn. Seven romantic luxury guest chambers with A/C and fans, 4-poster, iron & brass beds, private baths with "English Spa" toiletries; some with turrets, fireplaces, whirlpools. Gourmet breakfasts, refreshments, evening crackers, cheese, sherry. Day trips to Acadia National Park, lighthouses, islands, breath-taking sailing cruises. "Smell the sea air; explore the beauty of coast and islands... visit the charms of historic Belfast, Maine!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jeweled Turret Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jeweled Turret Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing