We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option on the water!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Jay, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great option on the water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in room 8 of the motel overlooking the water. While the decor was a bit dated, the room had been renovated and was comfortable and clean, particularly the bathroom. Loved the deck off the back. Coffee in the morning overlooking the water was a great way to start the day! Although the wireless was impossible to connect to, being unplugged is not a bad thing! We would absolutely stay there again and almost did on our way home! Loved the proximity to Young's Lobster Pound! Very relaxing and welcoming place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the motel because there were no cabins available. I think the next time we would prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dscaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    104
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
70
139
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Looked at their website before making the reservation for a big surprise anniversary get away. Every picture of the rooms and cabins were very modern and very nice. I booked a 2 night stay and upon opening the door to our cabin I was Sooo disappointed!!! We were given a 1960's looking decorated cabin...nothing modern about it like the website showed. The bedroom was fairly new but the kitchenette and living room were out of the 60's. It was clean but definitely not what I was expecting at all!!! After calling the office and asking about it I was informed that we paid for a standard cabin not a deluxe cabin. The website never showed pictures of the standard or ever mentioned the "old" appearance of some cabins. Website also mentioned nightly bonfires on the beach. It is really a fire pit next to the children's playground which is directly in front of a cabin. Was hoping for a nice romantic time around a fire that we wouldn't have to build but not gonna happen. Also says on website there is a "sandy" beach. Pebble/rock/shell beach is a more realistic description. Several misleading factors but a actually nice place once you get over the disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katybugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Traveling with friends we made reservations here at the last minute and when we checked in we were so glad we had opted for the Colonial Gables. We were at the motel part of The Gables and not in one of the cottages but as soon as I walked into my assigned room after a very long drive I was immediately cheered up. The room was decorated "cottage" style with bright colors and a very cheery, flowered comforter/bedspread. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean and in the bathroom were plenty of towels. At the opposite end of the room was a door leading to a balcony which had a lovely view of the Bay and with the late afternoon sun shining it was just the perfect place to stay and unwind after a long drive.

The 2 older ladies who checked my friends and me in had some suggestions for dining where we didn't have to drive to for dinner and in the morning when we dropped off our keys they had some suggestions for getting breakfast in Belfast which was very close by.

The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and although the motel was close to the highway I wasn't woken up by any traffic during the night.

This is a very Charming and Cheery Motel and extremely budget friendly. I know if I am ever in the Belfast, Me area again I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the motel section for a night (room #31) and we were very pleased with how charming and CLEAN it was. Quintessential New England charm. The owners are delightful and very helpful. We traveled with our 4 young kids and this place was SO child friendly. There is a small playground on the property (down on the "beach"). The whole property is ocean view and has direct ocean access. Justa great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This small town in on the coast of Maine is beautiful...I chose it as an ending of a 3 week coastal tour we took with my husband 2 kids and inlaws. The property has a hotel and cabins that are sprinkled along the property and all have a gorgeous view of the water. The kids enjoyed finding shells, crabs and rocks on the beach. At night we could hear the seals and during tide we saw seals swimming! The town is small but abundant with restaurants, shops and history and its about an hour and a half from the beautiful Acadia. The cabins are going through renovations I believe they're almost done. My inlaws had a hotel room that was clean and comfortable with its own deck with a view. Our cabin had been completely remodeled and very nicely done. (Cabin 34) the kitchen is stocked with pots pans, plates, cups silverware etc. everything was very clean ( I'm a harsh critic on clean) our only complaint (only because we are Great Lake sandy beach snobs) was the beach is very rocky. (As most of the beaches are in this area of Maine) just bring water shoes and a beach chair to sit in and you're good ;)
The older ladies that run the front office are sweet and very accommodating. This is not your 5 star hotel (although its as clean as them) its a cabin rental a place to relax and take in the beauty of Maine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here with 8 family members in June. The cottages are nicely renovated but needed several repairs while we stayed. Staff are very friendly, helpful and nice. My grandchild enjoyed throwing rocks in the ocean and small playground. The beach is rocky. Ellsworth is close by and Belfast is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

What an interesting "set up" this place offers has to offer the traveler...The assorted cottages are arranged in a very interesting manner and offer a unique stay, different from a "room" in a hotel/motel. A group of us, traveling together on motorcycles, checked in and were greeted by a very friendly staff. We got cottage #48 which was lovely!. There was a room with two beds, a master bedroom with a private bath and a pull out sleeper sofa in the living room, with a sliding door to close off the room for privacy. It made for perfect sleeping arrangements for the large group we had. There was a separate bathroom off of the kitchen with a shower and at the front of the living room area was a large, covered deck, that you entered through sliding glass doors, facing the water. It was a perfect 'set-up' but we were unable to enjoy the outdoors, pretty much, due to inclement weather. It was a good location to go visit/tour Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and some great food was found, right next door, at a 'very' interesting place, called Papa J's. We would definitely return...(hopefully in better weather)

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for help in choosing a room. They are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowpacecar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#4 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
20.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
12.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Property: Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Address: 7 Eagle Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7119
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, located in the mid-coast region, offers guest rooms and cottages in Belfast, Maine. All units have beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and the outer island of Islesboro. we are located on ten acres with easy access into the water for a refreshing swim. There is a children's playground area along with BBQ grills and picnic tables throughout the property. You will especially enjoy the beautiful grounds and lovely gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Hotel Belfast
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing