We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three days to start a trip in New England. When our trip ended, we wished we could have had more time in Belfast and at the Colonial Gables. It was our first anniversary so I chose to surprise my wife by shipping the cake top to the Colonial Gables, and Mary the lady who runs the place helped me out. She also mailed me 20+ flyer, pamphlets, brochures etc. about Belfast. It was the best trip ever and our stay here was amazing. You'd be foolish not to stay here if you are going to be in the Belfast/Bar Harbor area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    105
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
71
139
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our family of 5 just stayed here over the 4th of July holiday, and we loved it. We stayed in cabin # 39. It has a front porch with a view of the bay. It has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus a fully functional kitchen. It was clean and comfortable. Can't beat the value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went to Belfast in May for a girls weekend and rented a cottage at Colonial Gables. When I arrived, the lovely ladies in the front office offered us a different (recently upgraded) unit. They gave us both sets of keys and let us decide what unit we wanted. We picked the upgraded unit.

A bit of character with the sloping floors was not bothersome to us as the cottage was just darling, appointed nicely, with a front porch with an unobstructed view of the ocean, two bedrooms, a full kitchen, TV, wi fi, DVD player, and everything one needed to make themselves. Loads of room, a sweet cottage and wonderful views made this get away just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great place to stay whether it's for one night or several. The cottages are well kept and clean with all the amenities needed. Especially enjoyed meeting the office team and working with them for our visit. Would definitely schedule a visit next trip.

Room Tip: Schedule well in advance, this is a popular stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gielam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here last summer and had a wonderful time. We were in a studio cottage with a porch out front that had a great view of the bay. Staff was excellent and very helpful to newcomers to the area. Clean comfortable rooms. Looking forward to going back and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a room in the motel part rather than a cabin. The balcony overlooked the ocean. We walked on the beach while enjoying an adult beverage. There are a couple restaurants in walking distance. We used a discount coupon so the price was really reasonable but the regular cost wasn't out of line for the room. The beds were comfy and each room was decorated differently. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northwestgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Colonial Gables in Belfast, ME recently. The rooms are clean but a little outdated. The bathroom, although small, had a new tub/shower combo in it and it too was clean.
Each room has its own "back porch." The view on our trip was obscured due to rain and fog.
There are also cabins you can rent, I have never stayed in them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#4 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
20.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Property: Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Address: 7 Eagle Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7119
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, located in the mid-coast region, offers guest rooms and cottages in Belfast, Maine. All units have beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and the outer island of Islesboro. we are located on ten acres with easy access into the water for a refreshing swim. There is a children's playground area along with BBQ grills and picnic tables throughout the property. You will especially enjoy the beautiful grounds and lovely gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Hotel Belfast
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing