We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The view was nice and walking the beach was fun. The cottage had been updated with new curtains, and bed spreads. We did not use the kitchen but, it was nicely appointed. The king bed was lumpy and old. The road noise was bad, so we kept the noisy A/C on. Feather mattress pad was a nice idea, but, I kept getting stick by the quills during the night. The structure needs major repair.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
2  Thank Ringo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We just stayed the weekend in Cabin 27 upon recommendation of a coworker who stayed a couple years back in that unit. The grounds were well kept, the lawn groomed and perennial flowers established. Busy Route 1 was hidden from the cabins that sloped down to the bay. The gal at the front desk was quite accommodating with items of interest in the area. Having inexplicably paid more per night than the hotel advertised -$200 with reservations way in advance- we were hesitant as we drove toward our cabin and saw several othee outdated cabins with rotted windows and tired exteriors. (There were other cute units and we learned they were privately owned). At our parking spot we had trouble locating our cabin until we saw it was hidden in the side of the hill on the beach. As we approached the strong smell of mildew overtook us. It would without exaggeration be easier to list what wasn't broken in the cabin rather than list the failures. The mildew was unbearable...we talked it over and there was no vacancy, we were 4 hours from home with two large dogs, and we had just spent all we had on this place. We decided to try to tough it out - we opened every window we could, ran both exhaust fans (after fixing one of them), and despite temps down in the upper 40s that night propped an industrial fan we found into the bedroom window to get fresh air. Despite two different allergy meds we wheezed all night, our ears and throat
swollen uncomfortably. Living in a 200 year old home we are not strangers to environmental irritants but this was beyond compare. After having survived the night we resolved to just spend the rest of the weekend on the porch. It was incredibly relaxing ("location location location") and got us through our stay. Upon leaving I insisted on saying something to the front desk, who told us they didn't know the bathroom wall - among other areas - was sloughing off, saturated with mold. They promised to check in on it expediently. So I would
say kudos to the grounds and bay access but TLC is desperately needed for those cabins. To charge that much per night for a virtually uninhabitable unit should be a crime although in reality is the chance you take getting an older recommendation from a coworker.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Colonial Gables is a waterfront compound with cottages right on the beach/waterfront and a motel up the hill farther from the water but still offering lovely views. (We stayed in the motel.) This property is not fancy (an old-school independent motel) but it offers many positive features and excellent value. It is well located on Route 1 near Belfast with a private beach, scenic views across the harbor, lush flowers and a small butterfly garden. The motel is right on Route 1 but is set back and sheltered from highway noise. Our room was modest with no-nonsense, basic furniture, functional but not elegant; there were a number of nice touches, including a private deck with water views, coffeemaker, blow dryer, desk and chair, large king bed (not plush, but not uncomfortable), bedside tables and lamps. Free wifi worked well. Bathroom was fair: small with limited vanity/shelf space and a tub/shower combination that drained slowly. The manager (Mary) is affable, efficient, knowledgeable and extremely helpful – a real asset to the motel. Note that there is no breakfast on-site; ask Mary for her recommendations for a nearby breakfast spot.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the motel, the rooms all seem to be identical; perhaps ask for a room that...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed in a few places in the area as our daughter lives close by. In the off season we staff at the Fireside (formerly Comfort Inn) because of the indoor pool (good winter activity with the grandkids) but it's expensive in the summer so we decided to try this. We were upgraded from a motel room to a small cabin with a kitchenette - probably because we were going to be there 4 nights. That was nice. The bed was too soft so it was not very comfortable but everything else was very good. The staff could not have been nicer. We had a couple of issues with the cabin which were promptly fixed. We were far from the water and pretty close to Route 1 so if you go, ask for a cabin farther from the busy road. The wifi is free but didn't work all the time.The grounds are lovely and their have a little playground, shuffle board and horseshoes so there are a few activities for kids. This would be a great place for families.

Room Tip: As I said above, ask for one closer to the water and farther from Route 1. All have a nice view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for one night here on our way to the Maritime Provinces. When I went to check in at the office a lovely pair of ladies were very welcoming and quick with the check-in. Our cottage was quite close to the beach so the view was very nice. Since it was quite late in the day and we were tired we didn't take advantage of a walk on the beach but saw others doing just that. The outside of the cottage was older looking so I didn't know what to expect. What a surprise when I opened the door and went inside! It was absolutely wonderful! The first thing I saw was a king size bed, that was very comfortable and a little kitchen area with everything you could possibly need. The bathroom had a shower with lots of pressure and hot water. Everything was spotless. There was wireless internet available too. The one drawback would be for someone with mobility issues. The pathway to the cottages is paved but there is a hill to drive or walk up and down depending where your cottage is. There is also a small motel building with rooms which would better suit someone that has difficulty walking etc. I would stay here again and recommend this spot also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night here on a road trip up the eastern US, but it was a lovely stopover. The cabin was clean and well-equipped, especially the shower, which was powerful and hot.

The verandah overlooks the beautiful Penobscot bay, and is lovely for early morning or evening relaxation. I would definitely recommend, as its proximity to some lovely lobster restaurants makes it perfect for food too. The staff are helpful and welcoming, making the Colonial Gables a perfect stay for one night or many.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had rented a studio cottage (unit number 3) for 6 nights. The ladies in charge were warm and welcoming. The place is very quiet with a spectacular view. The beach is rocky, but still, fun to walk on or to sit on a chair to read, while admiring the ocean. But... our unit was "vintage" and clean and, overall ok... Except for a persistant bad smell (dog piss?) in the carpet, furniture and bathroom even if all the windows remained open 24 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eveline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#4 of 8 in Belfast
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
224 reviews
22.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Address: 7 Eagle Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7119
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £78 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, located in the mid-coast region, offers guest rooms and cottages in Belfast, Maine. All units have beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and the outer island of Islesboro. we are located on ten acres with easy access into the water for a refreshing swim. There is a children's playground area along with BBQ grills and picnic tables throughout the property. You will especially enjoy the beautiful grounds and lovely gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Hotel Belfast
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing