We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST bang for your buck !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bethel Village Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My husband and five year old recently stayed at Ruthie's Bethel Village Motel for a skiing weekend. Sunday River is 10 minutes away.

Ruthie was lovely to speak to upon making our reservation. The motel is right on Main St. nearby to many conveniences - bakery, grocery store (steps away), banks, church, etc.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Ruthie who told us she had just turned on the lights and heat in our room for us. The room was countryish and cozy and she had even set up a little cot with children's sheets for our little boy. We found the mattress and pillows very comfortable (and this is coming from two who sleep on a king size Tempurpedic).

The bathroom though small - had big fluffy towels, fantastic hot water/pressure and was super bright and clean.

There is a fridge in all the rooms - super convenient.

TV reception was super.

Ruthie also had fresh coffee and big mugs in the office area ready at 6:30 every morning that you can take up to your room.

We LOVED staying here. Other than some street sounds, it was super quiet (walls are pretty good) the decor is charming, room was immaculate and we were very comfortable. For $65 a night - the accommodation just simply unbeatable.

We will not stay anywhere else unless we have to.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

Ruthie took my reservation and was very pleasant on the phone. We stayed in 2 connecting rooms - one with a shower/bathroom, double bed, easy chair and refrigerator, and the other with a queen bed and twin with shower/bathroom. Terrific heat and hot water - most important after a long day at a Freestyle competition at Sunday River. Perfect in town location - only about 12 mintues to the mountain. Ruthie has 6:30 am morning coffee at the office for her guests - mugs are large and you can take mugs back to your room. Will certainly be back next year. Thanks for a comfortable and reasonable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakePlacidBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We visit our daughter and granddaughters in Bethel every year, and rather than stay with them we stay with Ruthie. Her Bethel Spa Motel is quiet, centrally located, and immaculate. Ruthie is an accomplished gardener and interior designer; her talents and good taste show in every room and in her garden adjoining the motel.

Ruthie always has a thermos of coffee at her front desk, and last year she installed free wireless Internet access. Who can ask for more?

We look forward to our stay with Ruthie!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

My young child and I stayed here during winter vacation week. It was convenient, neat and clean, and a bargain - about 40% less than other places. Many accommodations during ski season in this town are pricey, considering that you'll probably spend most of your time on the slopes. The hotel is smack in center of downtown, a few steps from the small grocery store. The shuttle bus stops right nearby. The rooms have personality like B&Bs in Ireland do...homey sheets, well-loved furnishings, etc. I liked the closet/shelving unit- ample room for bulky outerwear and ski boots. Some thought went into that, so thank you. I think most rooms are located on the 2nd floor above the owner's boutique. Our room was quiet and peaceful and we really relaxed during our stay. This hotel was a great contrast to the normal impersonal spaces you'd get for the same price along a highway. The owners were really nice, giving out information about the local area. I was able to get to the store and bank w/o jumping in my car, another plus. This would be a good place for families who must tag-team child care duties with errands. One adult could stay with the kids while the other walked to the store, etc. (Or maybe let teens walk around the village, etc.)

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ionfacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 269jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth G, Owner at Bethel Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethel Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Village Motel

Address: 88 Main St., Bethel, ME 04217-4042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethel Village Motel is conveniently located in the beautiful mountain village of Bethel, Maine, with easy access to shopping and dining. Affordable rates. Close to Sunday River Ski Resort, Mt. Abram Ski Area, Sunday River Golf Course, White Mountain National Forest, Androscoggin River, and more year-round 4-season recreational opportunties in Western Maine. Free Mountain Explorer shuttle bus to Sunday River Ski Resort. All rooms are on second floor above our women's boutique, Ruthies. Complimentary Green Mountain Coffee and other hot beverages available from 5:30 am daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bethel Village Hotel Bethel
Bethel Village Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing