We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Being my first snow holiday I wasnt sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised with Sunday River.
Our holiday had included accommodation plus lift passes for our duration and we only had to pay for the hire of my snowboard and boots.
The room was clean and comfortable with a handy kitchenette with fridge and dishwasher and fresh coffee making facilities (all very handy). The staff were super friendly and any request was met with a smile.
We had breakfast at the hotel which was so varied it was a bit overwhleming!
We loved the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub which was well needed after a day on the slopes.
The hotel had a laundry room which was needed for our weeks stay and also a secure room to store my husbands snow board overnight. Access to the various slopes was easy for us as we had car hire but the hotel had a shuttle service for those that didn't.
We found the people of Maine were really friendly. Would also recommed taking a visit to Portland if you can. Great holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
38
40
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent two nights here, talking advantage of a great package that included discounted lift tickets and a full breakfast. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the room was clean, although they had neglected to pick up somebody else's hair pins on the bathroom floor.
This is an ok place to stay if you're getting a discount, but we would not pay $200 or more for a room here during high season. The hotel has undergone some renovations, like the new "Camp" bar/restaurant, but the rooms are showing their age and could use a little updating, even if it's just a coat of paint. Also, we found Camp to be very dark for a breakfast spot.
Last time we stayed here, we asked for a quiet room, but they stuck us next to two rooms of partying snowboarders. Not only did their shouting keep us awake, one of them was so drunk he tried to break into our room at 3 am. I called down to the desk but they did nothing, so I went downstairs in person to complain.
Thankfully, we had a quiet and restful stay this time.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not anywhere near groups of drunken snowboarders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genevaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Decided on a quick getaway at Sunday River Ski Resort. A couple days skiing and a night's stay. I used the resort's website to request a quote and received a quote a day later. The "ski and stay" package would include lift tickets for one day and the night's stay. We'd have to buy a ticket for the other day. Not a problem as we planned to arrive after noon on Sunday and would buy half day tickets.

We arrived at 11:00 on Sunday morning and stopped by the hotel to see if there was a chance on getting into our room prior to the 6PM normal checking. Didn't expect it but surprising were assigned a room by a very pleasant desk attendant. She asked if we wanted our lift tickets for that day or the next. Since it was almost noon we opted for Monday and would buy half-day tickets for the remainder of the day. Off for lunch and an afternoon of skiing.

The 3rd floor room was clean and sized well. Clean bathroom with the extras one would expect (coffee maker, shampoo, etc.) The heating was a radiator and not one of the self contained units on the lower floors. A big plus for quiet. The hotel was nearly empty so any noise from other guests wasn't a factor. Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was good as was the service but, again, there were only a few guests. Outdoor hot tub/heated pool was clean with excellent service from the attendant.

Now for the communication part...

We went to the restaurant for the breakfast buffet mentioned on the web site when booking. Not open. Because it was the end of the season the buffet was replaced by breakfast in the small cafe on the 2nd floor. You could choose "an item from column a or two from column b plus coffee and a juice". In other words a breakfast sandwich or stack of pancakes. It was not bad food but hardly the buffet I prefer to "stock up" for a day of skiing. We also found out from other guests that Sunday had been the last day the full mountain was open. Only about 1/3 the lifts (and trails) would be open. Unfortunately these did not include those in the Jordan area that had by far the best conditions on Sunday. None of this was mentioned in the booking information.

Had the reduced skiing and alternate breakfast been pointed out in the documentation received with the initial quote or, at least, at check-in I might have understood but to find out about them after-the-fact was quite disappointing and brought down what could have been a nice little get-away.

Room Tip: 3rd floor heat isn't the self-contained units and will be much quieter. Might want to ask a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZ195908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed at the Grand Summit several times for March break skiing. Each time we have been disappointed. This time, the master bedroom thermostat was not working and the heat was unbearable the first night. We reported the problem, maintenance was sent up and advised it was fixed (which it wasn't). I called down again, and they reported the only option was to turn the heat completely off and provide us with a mini heater. Not an acceptable option. We were eventually moved to a different room which we were pleased with, but the whole experience was a hassle. The hotel plumbing overall definately needs some attention, the pipes are constantly banging - enough to make us jump. Next time we will try the Jordan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bethel hotels

home
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Pros:

-Friendly door staff
-Early access to room
-Large spacious rooms
-public spaces were kept up nicely

Cons:
-Noisy rooms
-CAMP Restaurant was horrible
-Cleaning staff were mediocre at best
-Extremely slow and intermittent WiFi
-Hot Tub area was very dirty.

Overall this is a ski resort, while there may be some high end ones out there, this is really not one of them. This is a ski hotel. That said the skiing, and the overall deal is well worth the visit to go there. We had amazing conditions. The staff on the door and front desk were always helpful. I was excited to try Camp as they had redone the space and menu from the old Legends, but it was a waste of time, from scattered wait staff, splattered wine while pouring in every glass, BURNT meat loaf (honestly - it had a hard brown crust from being pan seared that my knife had trouble getting through) and we were still only half way through starters when some of the main courses came out. The cleaning staff more often then not just dropped off bathroom and kitchen towels. And yes, as previous reviewers have noted the resort is VERY hot. We had the 'heat" set to 60 and it was showing 73 most days. We spent most nights with the windows open a bit in order to breath! I only visited the hot tub once as it was too dirty to go back. Also adult hours not enforced and many very young kids going crazy at all hours unsupervised in the pool area.

Despite all that I had a great vacation, mainly due to the conditions and my low expectations at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the ski check area if walking with gear on is difficult. Some rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daze1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good ski in ski out location. Restaurant recently upgraded and enlarged making more room for breakfast which is their best meal. Rooms are tired but new mattresses. Staff is excellent. I have been three times and this year was the best. Earlier years rooms were worse so it looks like they are working on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lets start with the good since that list is short: The valet service and the help in general is very accommodating and helpful. The valet will park your car for you, and since it was 0 degrees on check-in, that was very welcome. Desk help and housekeeping help professional. The renovated bar, Camp, is nice with a good beer selection and appetizer menu.
The rest of this place is just tired and depressing. It hasn't been refurbished since perhaps Jimmy Carter's administration. Old green velvet furniture. Old carpet, both in need of a good cleaning. My room was not small, but so oddly shaped it actually had a Murphy bed (pulls out of and retracts into the wall!) Who wants that. The room is depressing and dark. The bathroom is passable but very tiny --as in the door comes within 1 inch of the toilet when you close it.
There's no store or kiosk, disappointing in such a large place. Only a creepy vending room.
The place needs $15-20M in improvements Now.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLF422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
17.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
18.5 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Snow Cap Inn
Snow Cap Inn
#12 of 15 in Bethel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.2 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River

Property: Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Address: Sunday River Access Road, Bethel, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Number of rooms: 230
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort At Sunday River Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing