We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Experience”
Review of River View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
St. George, NB
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were travelling late at night and decided we better find a place to stay. The River View Resort looked good from the outside. We checked in at 9:30 and was told we just made it since they close the doors at 10 at this time of year. (Late May) The layout of the room is wonderful: spacious living area, kitchen, bathroom, two bedrooms BUT it lacks a lot in the area of comfort, cleanliness and decor. There was mold in the bathroom on the ceiling tile. It smelled musty and not fresh. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We couldn't believe that we couldn't even get our invoice in the a.m. since upon our departure, they weren't even open. UNBELIEVABLE!! It was a terrible experience. We should have asked to see a room first before paying since we would have driven further in the dark, foggy, rainy night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Old and poorly maintained. From the road it looks like a vintage WWII motel. My room was dark and dismal. Old fashioned, dark brown, indoor/outdoor carpeting was used throughout and it was ripped up in a few places. The ceiling was the cheapest tile they could find and it was stained in multiple rooms. The bathroom had mold around the tub and the toilet seat was stained and gouged in several places - a breeding ground for germs and disease. The stove was greasy and both the cutting board and the tiny counter top were stained and deeply etched from cutting and chopping - not healthy. The sleeper sofa was old and tired and very uncomfortable. Doors, furniture, and walls were scratched and smudged. The bed in the master BR was comfortable and the ones in the other bedroom were OK. One side of the closet in the Master BR was unusable due to the large hot water heater that stood there. The other side had 4" copper pipe running down the middle [sewer pipe from the second floor]. The venetian blind was missing a few slats. They charged $170 per night. I checked around and there Inns/motels in the vicinity that were significantly less expensive. I have never stayed in a worst place in 20 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonRueCler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bethel hotels

North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The property and room needs some "sprucing up." The bed was reasonably comfortable. Noticed there was areas set aside for smaller children which would be a good asset for families. The kitchen area was clean although we did not use.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aerolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay near the Appalachian Trail. I'd just sprained my ankle hiking on the AT, and needed to rest and recover. From check-in to check-out, the staff treated us like family members. We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi, sauna and pool, as well as the beautiful mountain and river view. In fact, we returned twice more during the time spent in Maine. Thank you Irene, Wendy, Sara, Lillian, Betsy, Chad and everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I would like to say "Thank you for a clean and happy home feeling stay"! We really loved it! We do plan to come back for another stay in fall of this year! Your staff is first rate! We would like more information on how to purchase a time share unit we loved it so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Nice room with two bedrooms, a kitchen and living room. The staff is very nice and were accommodating to our late arrival. Kids enjoyed an evening swim in the pool. Only one treadmill so get in there early. Overall a very pleasant place to stay just outside of Bethel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for a few days of skiing and liked the place. Not too far from the slopes (connected with a free shuttle service). Has a pool and hot tub. The spacious apartments are in a good shape with full kitchen and decent furnishing. Can recommend it to families and other groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.7 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Resort

Property: River View Resort
Address: 357 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Resort is a great place to kick off a vacation in Western Maine’s premier 4-season playground. In winter you can enjoy the thrills of downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling and other winter activities. Summertime, you can improve your game with the area’s world-class golfing. Enjoy canoeing, rafting, kayaking or hiking the wilds of Maine. Melt your cares away in the hot tub or sauna. Any season of the year, our 80ºF indoor pool is a real treat. The friendly couple that manage the River View will supply you with kayaks, paddles and life vests for some down-home river fun.All guest accommodations at River View are two-bedroom suites that sleep 5. All of the suites are clean and comfortable. The master bedroom has two closets, ample bureau storage and a comfy queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin beds, bureau and closet storage. In good weather, sit on the wrap-around deck and just enjoy the beautiful countryside. Kitchens are fully equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dishes and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bethel
River View Resort Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing