We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average/Adequate Physcial Facility--But Good Customer Service”
Review of River View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the River View Resort in Bethel, ME on our trip to see fall foliage. The customer service is outstanding, but I had to give it an "average" rating because it is an older property that definitely needs updating. You actually cannot see the river because of the cornfields and trees behind it even though the web site shows a beautiful shot of the river. But, we were comfortable enough even though it is not a higher end resort. I would just call it "adequate" and OK for one night on our way to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: There are two floors--be sure to get a top floor because when you walk the floors creak loudly--it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CajunCountryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked five nights in August but not until mid summer did we start looking for places to stay. When we found the River View Resort at a price that was reasonable we thought it would suit our needs...and it did! The property is an RCI facility and has seen a lot of business over the years. It may need some updating, but it was comfortable, we had a kitchen that had everything we needed to prepare the meals we wanted, air conditioning in the bedrooms, a pool, hot tub, and sauna (for our weary bodies after a day of hiking), canoes and kayaks for our personal use (we had never kayaked before and enjoyed learning!), an area to cook out (we didn't choose to do this), a laundry area, beautiful and convenient location, and a friendly and attentive staff. Our unit was clean and suited our needs. We even asked for the possibility of a refund for one night so we could leave a day earlier than planned and they helped us out by working with us to do so.
We also had an issue with a non working air conditioner but the staff provided us with a portable unit and all worked well. The beds were comfortable, the area was country (not in town) and we felt blessed to find it when our planning was not fully thought out beforehand. They also have a fitness area we did not use so I cannot truly discuss with honesty (as I failed to look at it).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were travelling late at night and decided we better find a place to stay. The River View Resort looked good from the outside. We checked in at 9:30 and was told we just made it since they close the doors at 10 at this time of year. (Late May) The layout of the room is wonderful: spacious living area, kitchen, bathroom, two bedrooms BUT it lacks a lot in the area of comfort, cleanliness and decor. There was mold in the bathroom on the ceiling tile. It smelled musty and not fresh. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We couldn't believe that we couldn't even get our invoice in the a.m. since upon our departure, they weren't even open. UNBELIEVABLE!! It was a terrible experience. We should have asked to see a room first before paying since we would have driven further in the dark, foggy, rainy night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Old and poorly maintained. From the road it looks like a vintage WWII motel. My room was dark and dismal. Old fashioned, dark brown, indoor/outdoor carpeting was used throughout and it was ripped up in a few places. The ceiling was the cheapest tile they could find and it was stained in multiple rooms. The bathroom had mold around the tub and the toilet seat was stained and gouged in several places - a breeding ground for germs and disease. The stove was greasy and both the cutting board and the tiny counter top were stained and deeply etched from cutting and chopping - not healthy. The sleeper sofa was old and tired and very uncomfortable. Doors, furniture, and walls were scratched and smudged. The bed in the master BR was comfortable and the ones in the other bedroom were OK. One side of the closet in the Master BR was unusable due to the large hot water heater that stood there. The other side had 4" copper pipe running down the middle [sewer pipe from the second floor]. The venetian blind was missing a few slats. They charged $170 per night. I checked around and there Inns/motels in the vicinity that were significantly less expensive. I have never stayed in a worst place in 20 years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DonRueCler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The property and room needs some "sprucing up." The bed was reasonably comfortable. Noticed there was areas set aside for smaller children which would be a good asset for families. The kitchen area was clean although we did not use.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aerolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay near the Appalachian Trail. I'd just sprained my ankle hiking on the AT, and needed to rest and recover. From check-in to check-out, the staff treated us like family members. We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi, sauna and pool, as well as the beautiful mountain and river view. In fact, we returned twice more during the time spent in Maine. Thank you Irene, Wendy, Sara, Lillian, Betsy, Chad and everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I would like to say "Thank you for a clean and happy home feeling stay"! We really loved it! We do plan to come back for another stay in fall of this year! Your staff is first rate! We would like more information on how to purchase a time share unit we loved it so much!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
2.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
50 reviews
2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Resort

Address: 357 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £104 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Resort is a great place to kick off a vacation in Western Maine’s premier 4-season playground. In winter you can enjoy the thrills of downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling and other winter activities. Summertime, you can improve your game with the area’s world-class golfing. Enjoy canoeing, rafting, kayaking or hiking the wilds of Maine. Melt your cares away in the hot tub or sauna. Any season of the year, our 80ºF indoor pool is a real treat. The friendly couple that manage the River View will supply you with kayaks, paddles and life vests for some down-home river fun.All guest accommodations at River View are two-bedroom suites that sleep 5. All of the suites are clean and comfortable. The master bedroom has two closets, ample bureau storage and a comfy queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin beds, bureau and closet storage. In good weather, sit on the wrap-around deck and just enjoy the beautiful countryside. Kitchens are fully equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dishes and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bethel
River View Resort Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing