We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have stayed here over the past 9 years and still love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have stayed here over the past 9 years and still love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Perfect for families or couples; separate rooms,great kitchen to cook" in" and spend less, and the kids can be "safely independent". We feel our kids have grown up there over the winters...yes, we've rented other properties but they love the "Riverview",game room, pool,hot tub and we can always leave for dinner and feel they are safe. The front desk/ housekeeping staff are wonderful local people that will do anything to make you feel at home and comfortable. The shuttle service to the Mt key for teenagers!! We highly recommend it for people looking to be close to the Mt, want privacy ,comfortable beds ,and have families.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I ski Sunday River 20-30 days a year and have stayed here several times; alone, with family and with friends. The rooms are not luxurious but they are clean and comfortable. Two bedrooms, fridge, stove with oven, hot tub, pool, wifi...... has everything I need. Was up there with my wife, daughter and friend beginning of February; kids loved it. TV's are a bit dated, but these days no matter where I go I just bring my laptop with me and stream movies when I want to watch something anyway so that is not an issue. Noise has only been an issue on rare occasions, usually just kids running past the door on the way to the pool; certainly nothing that would affect my sleep. Shuttle will pick you up right at the door and bring you to the ski area in 5 minutes, no need to drive. 10 minutes or less to I've rented studios at Sunday River a few times... Riverview is more comfortable for less $$$. The staff is very courteous and helpful, quick to respond if you need something. The Ritz it is not..... however it is every bit as good as any of the other establishments in Bethel I've stayed at, and for a little more money you get an apartment that will sleep 4-6, not just a room. Plan to be back in March for spring skiing. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmak57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

My whole family (7 adults and 3 children under 4 years old) stayed in 2 units. Overall our stay was nice but not sure if I would consider Riverview a "resort". They have a nice indoor pool with hot tub (seats about 5 adults) and a sauna. The hot tub became a bonus after skiing all day. Riverview is located about 8 min from the South Ridge of Sunday River and maybe 5 min from in town Bethel and most restaurants so the location was great for all we wanted to do. The units do have a river view but it is about 100 yards back. The downside to the "resort" is that it does need some pretty serious renovation. Everything is in full working order but just simply outdated and worn down - I'm not sure how it can be considered of RCI standards. One of the units did have a DVD player but the other did not. You can borrow VHS (and board games) from the lobby but honestly who remembers how to use a VHS? The place is also right off route 26 which is a fairly busy and noisy road. The staff was absolutely wonderful which made our stay worth it for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Very warm and welcoming staff - gave great restaurant recommendations. Also very close to new Gourmet to Go type restaurant. Two bedrooms were a nice step up from staying in a regular hotel room. Didn't use the stove but glad there was a refrigerator. Location was a great launching point for sightseeing. Was able to see the river from room (over the cornstalks). Walked down once but didn't have time to use complimentary canoe. Indoor pool was nice size. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

we stayed 1 night so glad i didnt pay extra for a view. clean room could do with a little work kitchen living space OK 2 bedroom bathroom. best thing about this place is the indoor pool ( little cold ) but nice, table tennis table. we did a road trip in the fall most places are closed by this time so one night in this area is more than you need

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Ok this was a swap for RCI...we waited in anticipation for almost 8 months to get here, what a let down! First off, despite the name, on the barest of winter days there will be NO river view from any place on this property. (In fact the website shows the river leading you to believe it is right behind the building.) To even get to the river it is a 30 minute walk through a mosquito infested cornfield. We used the entire bottle of repellent coming and going to the canoe spot. This resort was picked because we wanted to be able to fish from here. Unfortunately after the 30 minutes it took to get to the river, the landing was covered in fresh bear tracks!! We made the return trip to our room in record time, fishing knives opened! Had we actually encountered this bear, I probably wouldn't be writing this memo. The rooms are outdated too. We brought DVDs to watch, however there are only outdated VCR players and the front desk does not offer tapes to watch. Yes, the walls are paper thin and the A/C can not be adjusted for temp. Please be sure to bring your own iron, the one you get from the lobby will ruin your clothes - and the ironing board (all 2 feet of it) wouldn't stand up on it's own. Mini blinds in the windows and back door have slats missing so why bother to close them. Overall the best part of of the Riverview Resort is their marketing company. I feel bad leaving such a crappy review because the owners are the nicest , but it isn't a discount resort, so try a different place in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisheachday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
The Androscoggin River is visible from every bedroom window and every rear deck (including the pool deck) of the resort. From the rear decks the river is less than 200 yards away and downhill. There are trees along it so it is not a half mile of unobstructed river view, but it is certainly visible and quite pretty according to many guests. It takes approximately 5 minutes to reach the river from the lobby and another five to ten minute walk along it to the canoe launch area.

At different periods of the year there are mosquitoes along just about any waterway in New England (and non-waterway areas) and to our knowledge we are unique in even supplying insect repellent to guest who may or may not need it. We apologize for the pests, but we have no control over them. As to bears this is the first guest to have sighted any such thing in the 15 years we have been managing the River View. There are often large raccoon tracks in that area. In any case people do often encounter black bears in the wild in Maine and I don't think there has been a case of a bear attack on a human up here in 50 years.

DVD players are available upon request and there are over 100 VHS tapes available in the lobby free of charge. We do apologize for any guest noise and quite often we are able to take care of it if informed. Lastly we are always in the process of maintaining and upgrading our units and if a guest informs us of needed maintenance like blinds we replace them immediately. I'm happy this guest like us as managers, but am saddened that the problems were not brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bethel hotels

Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We were looking for a place that was not at the Sunday River Ski area that would be family friendly and a good value. The staff has been most friendly and helpful, but that barely makes up for the appalling quality of the rooms, the endless noise of adjoining rooms and the 1950's decor. To date, not one of the five people in the condo were able to sleep due to the breathing from the neighboring rooms(apparently paper is the material of choice for the the walls), the screeching from the of the floors, and the generator sound from the mammoth RV parked just outside the door (made of crepe paper too). Hopefully one of us will collapse from exhaustion and get a nights sleep.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, Noise, Noise
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozymandias101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
We do apologize for the noise. Christmas week and Vacation Week in February are our absolute noisiest. We do everything we can to accommodate people at all times and especially during our high traffic periods, but sometimes there is nothing we can do. Again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
17.9 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
18.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Resort

Property: River View Resort
Address: 357 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Resort is a great place to kick off a vacation in Western Maine’s premier 4-season playground. In winter you can enjoy the thrills of downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling and other winter activities. Summertime, you can improve your game with the area’s world-class golfing. Enjoy canoeing, rafting, kayaking or hiking the wilds of Maine. Melt your cares away in the hot tub or sauna. Any season of the year, our 80ºF indoor pool is a real treat. The friendly couple that manage the River View will supply you with kayaks, paddles and life vests for some down-home river fun.All guest accommodations at River View are two-bedroom suites that sleep 5. All of the suites are clean and comfortable. The master bedroom has two closets, ample bureau storage and a comfy queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin beds, bureau and closet storage. In good weather, sit on the wrap-around deck and just enjoy the beautiful countryside. Kitchens are fully equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dishes and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bethel
River View Resort Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing