We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Veery good except no breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Norseman Inn

Norseman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norseman Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Veery good except no breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We try to choose motels that serve breakfast, for convenience, and selected this one to stay in Bethel for that reason. However, while the website stated that the motel served a continental breakfast, it turned out that this was only on weekends, not the midweek dates of our stay. The room was fine but I just don't like it when the website contains such a misstatement.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
15
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was exactly what you want from a ski town motel. The proprietors were friendly, and helpful (recommending restaurants in the area), and the rooms were clean (if basic) and large (which is key for ski trips). The location is about halfway between town (Bethel) and the mountain (Sunday River), which means that you're either going to be driving, or taking the shuttle when you want to go anywhere. Also, they have a ski tuning room, which is a nice amenity that many hotels are lacking.

If you're looking for somewhere decent, but cheap, to stay in the Sunday River area, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

In a converted farmhouse and barn, this is a cute motor lodge! We stayed here while hiking parts of the Appalachian Trail and could not have been happier. Extremely nice staff, pretty good breakfast, good location. A quick & convenient drive to the picturesque center of Bethel and surrounding ski resorts, shopping, antiques, etc. This is a converted building, so like most conversions from one use to another, not everything can be perfect. The rooms were a little dark on the back where we stayed because the windows were necessarily a bit small; I think I missed a bigger window partly because the view was so nice! A small field or former pasture lot backing on to woods, but we could sit on our shared back porch and enjoy watching the fog lift in the morning while we drank our coffee. The Inn is a little older, a little dated, but clean and the housekeeping staff was attentive.The Inn was quiet and we slept well. Oh, and we played ping pong after a few beers at the English pub next door the second night we stayed. Great value, perfect place to be if you will be doing outdoor activities around Bethel.

BTW, also a great running path you can pick up next to the river, by turning right out of the front of the Inn. Just look at a Google map.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misslily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have been staying at the Norseman Inn and Motel for the past twenty plus years. It is the best value in the area, within easy walking distance to two restaurant pubs and less than ten minutes to Sunday River Resort. If you don't want to drive it is on the shuttle route which gets you just about everywhere in the area. The Cheney's, the owners, are very nice and helpful, trying always to accommodate there guests.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3rdbattbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

After a delightful drive through the "leaves" of New England, we happened on this lovely motel. Set in well kept grounds, with a most friendly and helpful owner, this was one of our favourite motels we encountered during our 10,607 mile drive around the US in your "fall". Set just out of town, it provided us with a quite and much needed rest. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeedyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

The Norseman has been my only choice for a good nights rest for many years now when skiing Sunday River. The owners Dale and John Cheney are always around to assist. One of the benefits I like when staying here is that if your room is empty and ready, you can check in and utilize it early in the morning. This comes in quite helpful after a long ride and very few hotels will do this for you.
The rooms are nice and clean with microwaves, fridges and plenty of channels on the cable TV. I always seem to stay in the renovated old barn section of the Inn on the back side.
Another advantage of staying here is there’s a pub on the next lot over, where one can get a great meal and beer. John keeps a shoveled path to the pub so one doesn’t have to walk out on the main road.
It was early in the season this trip, so I missed out on the continental breakfast but have enjoyed it many times before.
The rates are very reasonable (this time I think it came to around $62) and I’ve never been disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedeque
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We arrived late in the evening in a downpour. We'd been driving for 10 hours. The owner was behind the desk and despite their no pets policy, accepted our assurances our puppy would remain in his crate and would not be allowed out in the room. It was very considerate of her and we appreciated her flexibility. She recommended an excellent pub just down the road where we had a great meal and some wonderful English draft. We slipped into bed and never heard a thing until the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencePEI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.0 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
18.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.6 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Inn

Property: Norseman Inn
Address: Mayville Road (Route 2), P.O. Box 934, Bethel, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Norseman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norseman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing