We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Norseman Inn

Norseman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norseman Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed the large room and great location of this inn. We were in Bethel because we were taking the Bumpus mine tour which started right across the highway. An added bonus was the games room - although it wasn't fancy, we had a blast playing ping-pong as a family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
16
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Arriving on 05/04/2013 this started my week long stay here. Checking in and receiving Room 18 I opened the door and found that the pictures on the internet were the same as the room. This is really a nice place to stay and they really help out people who are arriving in the area to do contractor work. They offered us a special price that would not break your pocket book. Even thought I had to drive to Rumford to work, the price of the really clean rooms you really like staying here. So my "THANKS" to the that run and the ones that keep the rooms clean. Thank you from this southern boy, Bill Kennedy, Leesville, LA.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dover
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at the Norseman Inn for close skiing to Sunday River. The property was well maintained and located within walking distance to the biking/hiking trails along the river. The town of Bethel was very close by. The rooms were clean and neat, ours included a couch and nice sitting table. The peacefullness of the surrounding area and the friendliness of the owners made for an exceptional stay. We wouldn't hesitate to return again for another visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

clean comfortable room, easy to get to town or to sunday river. 2 restaurant/pubs within walking distance. weekends they have a continental breakfast. I usually head to the mountain before the breakfast is available but when I walked into the lounge area to get a tea they had some fresh muffins already made, which they wrapped up for to take with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to the Norseman Inn every year for the past 20 years and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Over those 20 years, my family and I must have stayed in every room in motel section of the Inn, and always found the rooms clean and comfortable. I'm not sure where some of these negative comments about the rooms are coming from. The owners are fabulous! They treat their guests like family. The complimentary continental breakfast by the fire each morning hits the spot before a day out on the slopes. If you are looking for a cozy inn that's a short drive or shuttle bus ride to Sunday River, that doesn't charge the exorbitant rates places closer to the mountain do, this is the place for you!

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed at the Norseman Inn recently for 2 nights during a ski trip. They have b&b type rooms in the main house and a motel next door. We were 3 adults and our room was in the motel. The first issue was the blankets on the bed had holes in them. Yes, many holes from what seemed to be moths. The replacements that were brought had holes too. In their defense, the next day they too were replaced by brand new blankets. The other issue is we had a cot in our room that should have been thrown in the dumpster. This was an air mattress on a frame that was almost worse than sleeping on the floor. I needed to take both comforters off the beds, fold them and place them on the mattress to add minimal comfort. And after skiing all day, a teenage boy still couldn't sleep on this thing. I sat on it and thought it was going to collapse beneath me.
On a positive note, the owners were pleasant and engaging. The main house had a nice sitting area with fireplace and very good continental breakfast. This place has lots of potential and the outside is well maintained and decorated. Location and room rates were very good. They just need to invest in renovating the motel IMO.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, get one of the rooms at the inn, not motel (if there's room at the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Maine for snow sports......a nice room and great fireplace in the sitting area.....the owners were wonderful with lots of information to improve our stay and enjoyment of the area......we had 17 inches of fresh snow during our stay which ,made for excellent skiing and snowboarding. The nearby woods were great during our day of cross country skiing.....we'll be back.....

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.6 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Inn

Property: Norseman Inn
Address: Mayville Road (Route 2), P.O. Box 934, Bethel, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Norseman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Norseman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing