We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had an amazing time here last weekend! On top of great accommodations the food was absolutely amazing. Plus there was live music on Saturday night in the bar area. I can't think of a much more romantic way to spend an evening then sitting on a couch in front of a wood stove listening to great acoustic guitar. Woody, Lee, Meghan, and the rest of the staff continually went out of their way to provide excellent service. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninautik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
88
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just made our second trip to Mill Hill, & as before it was great. Rooms are cozy and quiet, breakfast delicious, hosts friendly and easy going. Great location, in town but off the main drag so very peaceful. Easy drive to Sunday River for skiing, easy walk to great downtown restaurants. Look forward to bringing our kids with us next time and trying out one of the spacious suites.

Room Tip: Tell Woody if you want morning or afternoon sun (east vs west facing room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We love every aspect of our stays at Mill Hill Inn - it is our home away from home when visiting our daughter at Gould.
The food is excellent, the Inn is Cozy, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and owners/hosts Woody and Lee are amazing.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaze2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We spent several weekends here last ski season, thoroughly enjoying Woody's hospitality. I was looking forward to coming back this year, hoping that it would be as good as I remembered it. Well, I am happy to say that everything is as great as ever! The beds are as comfortable, the rooms are as clean and warm, the popovers are as flaky, the blueberry sauce is still made with Maine blueberries, maple syrup is still the real thing, coffee a rich brew made with a French press, great room as welcoming, tapas as fresh and delicious and Woody and Lee as friendly and sociable as ever.
Woody has even increased his breakfast servings to keep up with the appetites of my teenage sons, making sure we all start the day stuffed with his hot delicious food.
Last Friday night we headed downstairs after the bar was closed, but Woody still came right over to us and offered to grab us some drinks.
As we headed out to ski in the rain, he outfitted my sons and their friends with zip loc bags to protect their phones. He is just an amazing host, always willing to go above and beyond. Like having a friend with a ski house who just happens to love having guests.
I can't think of a better place to stay! Thank you, Woody and Lee!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth3536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our next trip to the Mill Hill Inn will include the hummus, the scallops, and the tuna or the salmon, which we didn't try on this visit, but which the wait staff all rave about. Loved the live music - nice touch.

The place is perfect for xcskiiers. Right across the street from the Bethel Inn trails, and the trails for the private school. And just a short drive from the Sunday River trails (which you get to use if you buy the trail pass at the Bethel Inn.

We were there one short weekend, skiied across the street in the morning, had lunch at the Millbrook Tavern, went back to room at Mill Hill Inn for a short rest, then back out to the trails at Sunday River in the afternoon, Marvelous dinner. Then woke the next morning before leaving the area and headed to carters xcski area.

The Inn was perfect for us. The room was cozy, the front room and dining room were not too big and provided nice atmosphere. Breakfast was home style and enough to fuel our morning activities.

Thanks Woody and Lee and the rest of the staff (and Pablo (?))

Room Tip: We loved Room Number 6,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a lovely place! The inn is in a beautiful rehabilitated barn, comfortable and homey and rich with character. We stayed in the third floor suite, which was very spacious and bright, with beds for eight, a kitchenette and a terrific tiny loft with a cupola. The inn has wi-fi, a cozy lounge downstairs with movies and games, and a big gathering room on the first floor with a fire always burning in the stove. An excellent breakfast was served every morning, with coffee and eggs and delicious potatoes and sausages, and as if all that weren't enough, the inn has a tapas restaurant which is out-of-this-world. I think it's only open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, so I highly recommend you make sure to take advantage of it during your stay.

The location is also superb. It's a short walk up the road to the Bethel Outdoor Center, where you can cross-country ski on groomed trails, rent snowshoes and pay a fee to use the heated outdoor pool. Restaurants and shops are close by as well, and Sunday River is a ten-minute drive. Bethel also has a free shuttle bus service which runs between the Bethel Inn up the hill and Sunday River, with local stops in between.

Room Tip: Suite 8 is great for a group of friends or a family. The small rooms are lovely, though, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Splon60946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Most inns and B & B's rev up the decor so that the atmosphere feels self-conscious, more like a museum or a stage set. The Mill Hill Inn, a beautifully converted old barn, respects history, but has a special, genuine flavor all its own. Surrounding a welcoming and warming wood stove are art works, many of them by the hand of proprietor Woody Hughes, and weekends the high ceiling living room and bar fills with the sounds of live music. Exhibitions of contemporary art in the upstairs gallery are a further treat. The breakfasts and the tapas-style dinners we found delicious, testaments to the culinary arts. Walking distance to cross-country skiing, and a short drive to downhill skiing. Friendly, interesting inn-keepers don't hover, but made our stay fun and comfortable. One and a half hours from Portland...what's not to like?? We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewhittlesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#5 of 15 in Bethel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Hill Inn

Property: Mill Hill Inn
Address: 24 Mill Hill Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Hill Inn, originally a barn built in the 1870s, was first converted into a private home in 1948 and then into a B & B in 1977. Lee and Woody Hughes purchased the inn in April of 2010 and renovated this wonderful structure from top to bottom during that summer. The newly renamed Mill Hill Inn opened its doors September 9, 2010. The inn is located just off the historic district on the north end of the Bethel Common, on a secluded acre and a half. This private setting is beautifully landscaped with both ornamental, vegetable, and herb gardens, producing food and flowers for the inn. The leveled lawn space adjacent to the front door area provides ample space for a 30' x 50' tent, suitable for weddings and private affairs. The Studio Bistro & Bar offer a unique menu and a full bar, served in the Great Room as well as in our dining room.The inn has six rooms, two of which are suites. All rooms come with new king sized beds, all cotton bedding, and private baths. The suites provide guests with kitchens and can sleep six to eight people. Rent one room or the entire inn, which can comfortably sleep twenty-two guests. PRICES: STARTING FROM $109 - $119, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY, SUITES - $139, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hill Hotel Bethel
Mill Hill Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing