We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Mill Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great and inviting atmosphere as this small inn. The inn keepers are friendly and helped recommend great places to eat, swim and other outdoor activities. Laid back and walking distance to many things in Bethel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Mill Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place started as a barn, was restored to a home then Sue and Wally took the dilapidated place and transformed it into a welcoming refuge. It's sort of "funky" in a good way...our room had a cathedral high stairway to nowhere. Wally cooked a delicious dinner meal served on dishes that he made. We chose a dinner of tapas plates ...all tasty. This is not a quaint place, rather an interesting place to eat, gather and hear some good folk music. Breakfast was a disappointment although the coffee and Wally's mugs were perfection.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hrvnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Mill Hill over the 4th of July. Woody and Lee were great hosts and the inn felt like home; very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. We enjoyed sitting on the porch each morning sipping our coffee waiting for breakfast and listening to the quiet! Saturday night we had a delicious dinner at the inn along with live music. Woody and Lee made great suggestions for activities based on our interests. We visited Step Falls on a warm afternoon and took a dip in the pool below the falls which was exhilarating! The village of Bethel is charming and quaint. Sunday River Golf Course is not to be missed if you are a golfer. The course is tough but the views are spectacular. We will definitely stay at Mill Hill Inn when we visit the area again.
Spike and Gayle

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4; spacious with afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle and Spike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Mill Hill on a school visit to Gould Academy. It was an off time, and the town was quiet. The inn is lovely with large suites for families and lots of space in common areas to hang out. Lots to do in the area and in the house - play pool, etc. perfect spot for a family reunion. Were there on a Monday, so they weren't serving dinner, sadly. But breakfast was yummy, and innkeeper Woody was ever helpful and engaging. Will have to come back again and stay there in the winter and ski at Sunday River!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoredinBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived in Bethel tired and hungry. Woody and Lea immediately welcomed us and could not have been more hospitable. To back track, even the phone call to make the reservation was a pleasure. Dinner was delicious and healthy. We even ate off of Woody's beautiful pottery. I wish we could have stayed longer. I hope that I have to return to Bethel and I will definitely stay at Mill Hill every time I go there.

Room Tip: Unit #7 is huge. Plenty of space and privacy for all. Wouldn't bother with cooking. Woody'...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Went to Bethel Maine for a wedding that was taking place in town. We were able to locate the Mill Hill Inn, which is right next to the Bethel Inn where the reception was, and we had an unbelievable stay. Woody was fantastic and catered to my family's needs. Beds are comfy, spacious rooms, large common areas and great breakfast. It is very clean and well maintained. Woody had a bucket of beer ready upon our arrival. Very well run and would absolutely return

Room Tip: We stayed in the room in the attic...it is huge and has 4 beds and a loft, great for a family
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We've stayed at many hotels/b&b's...this is the only place where we've actually had a good night's sleep! The beds are so comfy!! The B&B itself is the perfect Maine resort...wide pine wood floors, cozy couches around a blazing wood stove, a pool table, warm and welcoming owners...I can't say enough good things about this place. AND the food and drinks are amazing!!
I've stayed here with family and for business now. Really great place. Good wifi too.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great...they have two "family" style rooms with several beds & kitc...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.9 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Hill Inn

Address: 24 Mill Hill Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Hill Inn, originally a barn built in the 1870s, was first converted into a private home in 1948 and then into a B & B in 1977. Lee and Woody Hughes purchased the inn in April of 2010 and renovated this wonderful structure from top to bottom during that summer. The newly renamed Mill Hill Inn opened its doors September 9, 2010. The inn is located just off the historic district on the north end of the Bethel Common, on a secluded acre and a half. This private setting is beautifully landscaped with both ornamental, vegetable, and herb gardens, producing food and flowers for the inn. The leveled lawn space adjacent to the front door area provides ample space for a 30' x 50' tent, suitable for weddings and private affairs. The Studio Bistro & Bar offer a unique menu and a full bar, served in the Great Room as well as in our dining room.The inn has six rooms, two of which are suites. All rooms come with new king sized beds, all cotton bedding, and private baths. The suites provide guests with kitchens and can sleep six to eight people. Rent one room or the entire inn, which can comfortably sleep twenty-two guests. PRICES: STARTING FROM $109 - $119, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY, SUITES - $139, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hill Hotel Bethel
Mill Hill Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing