We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Mill Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed at the Mill Hill Inn twice now, and we highly recommend it. Woody and his wife, Lee have created a gem that, for us, is midway between our home in Vermont and the coast of Maine, so a perfect layover spot. The bedrooms are quite large and the entire place is very tastefully decorated with original artwork and Woody’s pottery. Woody works his magic in the kitchen too with an eclectic menu to suit anyone’s tastes. Sometimes there is live music on Friday nights, an added touch to a very homey and comfortable place. We happened to be there on Mollyockett weekend on our last visit – so we were fortunate to witness a wonderful parade and craft fair on the green.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, relaxing summer getaway spot in Maine - we found Mill Hill Inn and couldn't have been happier. In almost every way, Mill Hill Inn is not your ordinary B&B - I would characterize it as a B&B with a boutique hotel experience. So you get the best of both B&B (wonderful inn keepers, comfortable setting / almost like home, shared sitting areas) and hotel (large, well appointed rooms, separate tables for breakfast).
We ended up getting into town a little later than planned - in past visits to B&B/small hotels this is a huge problem - not here. Woody gave us a call, and set us up with everything that we needed, taking the pressure for arriving by a certain time.
We arrived to a huge room with a lot of peace and quiet. You can walk to all of the restaurants in Bethel from the Inn. Woody gave us some great recommendations and off we went.
Breakfast the next morning was all we needed to make it through an excellent hike (also recommended by Woody, called Old Spec, we highly recommend it). Woody's popovers were the best that we had during our stay in Maine (and yes, we tried a lot of them).
Unfortunately we missed one of the nights that the restaurant was open - based on breakfast, I bet it is one of the better restaurants in town.
We had the chance to spend a little time with Woody and Lee before we left. They are both wonderful. Their personality and hard work is reflected in every part of the experience of staying at the Mill Hill Inn. We highly recommend staying here and hope to make it back one day soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCB1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I loved my stay with Woody and Lee at the Mill Hill Inn. The Inn is old, lovely and comfortable. I love that their renovations have maintained the integrity of this wonderful old building. There are no TVs in the rooms which lends to a more completely restful stay. Woody's popovers were a delightful edition to breakfast. I'd stay here any time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trudi409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lee and Woody have created a lovely inn, with multiple room options and a great tapas restaurant. The Mill Hill Inn offers a very interesting dining alternative and a cozy inn and bar. Music entertainment is great! We highly recommend the Inn and plan to return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meadow6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great and inviting atmosphere as this small inn. The inn keepers are friendly and helped recommend great places to eat, swim and other outdoor activities. Laid back and walking distance to many things in Bethel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place started as a barn, was restored to a home then Sue and Wally took the dilapidated place and transformed it into a welcoming refuge. It's sort of "funky" in a good way...our room had a cathedral high stairway to nowhere. Wally cooked a delicious dinner meal served on dishes that he made. We chose a dinner of tapas plates ...all tasty. This is not a quaint place, rather an interesting place to eat, gather and hear some good folk music. Breakfast was a disappointment although the coffee and Wally's mugs were perfection.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hrvnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Mill Hill over the 4th of July. Woody and Lee were great hosts and the inn felt like home; very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. We enjoyed sitting on the porch each morning sipping our coffee waiting for breakfast and listening to the quiet! Saturday night we had a delicious dinner at the inn along with live music. Woody and Lee made great suggestions for activities based on our interests. We visited Step Falls on a warm afternoon and took a dip in the pool below the falls which was exhilarating! The village of Bethel is charming and quaint. Sunday River Golf Course is not to be missed if you are a golfer. The course is tough but the views are spectacular. We will definitely stay at Mill Hill Inn when we visit the area again.
Spike and Gayle

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4; spacious with afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle and Spike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.1 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 16 in Bethel
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Hill Inn

Address: 24 Mill Hill Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Hill Inn, originally a barn built in the 1870s, was first converted into a private home in 1948 and then into a B & B in 1977. Lee and Woody Hughes purchased the inn in April of 2010 and renovated this wonderful structure from top to bottom during that summer. The newly renamed Mill Hill Inn opened its doors September 9, 2010. The inn is located just off the historic district on the north end of the Bethel Common, on a secluded acre and a half. This private setting is beautifully landscaped with both ornamental, vegetable, and herb gardens, producing food and flowers for the inn. The leveled lawn space adjacent to the front door area provides ample space for a 30' x 50' tent, suitable for weddings and private affairs. The Studio Bistro & Bar offer a unique menu and a full bar, served in the Great Room as well as in our dining room.The inn has six rooms, two of which are suites. All rooms come with new king sized beds, all cotton bedding, and private baths. The suites provide guests with kitchens and can sleep six to eight people. Rent one room or the entire inn, which can comfortably sleep twenty-two guests. PRICES: STARTING FROM $109 - $119, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY, SUITES - $139, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hill Hotel Bethel
Mill Hill Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing