We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 hours of canoing on the river”

Bethel Outdoor Adventure
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Bethel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A campground for tenting, RVs, all pull through sites, big rig friendly. On the banks of the Androscoggin River. Canoe and kayak rentals. Shuttle service. Fishing. a Mineralogy sluice on site.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great 3 hours of canoing on the river”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The owners are terrific. The briefing was short and simple. Made you feel like they were being helpful and not giving a lecture. All in all a great day on the river. Saw an Eagle, an Osprey and several ducks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lake charles, louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great people and a great experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We rented a 2 person kayak form this company and could not have had a more pleasurable experience. From the moment we arrived until we drove off their property they made everything easy and enjoyable. The equipment was top notch as well as the way they treat their guests. We had a wonderful talk with patty Patterson who is one of the owners. They drop you off up river and you kayak back down to them. The Androscoggin river was beautiful!! Clear water and beautiful scenery for the entire ride. Stay to the left of the little islands as you go down the river to avoid highway noise. In fact once we figured that out, we heard nothing much but beautiful silence. Had a nice lunch on a sandy beach.... A perfect afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank billiepearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“A great place to go on an adventure”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We rented kayaks for an 18 mile trip down the Androscoggin River (there are shorter trips)and we had a blast! Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. On the river you will have the ability to see many great views and wildlife. There are river otter, moose, bear, Bald Eagles, Gold Eagles, and snapping turtles to be seen. We only saw sign if the moose and river otter but saw many eagle and snapping turtles. Be prepared to spend the day out there. It is definitely well worth the cost. The other awesome thing is that there is no time limit!! I highly recommend this!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Canoe, Kayak, Float Tube.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've booked two kayak trips with these folks and have had a great time. Both times we used a kayak. The trip down the river is wonderful and changes with the seasons. We are lucky enough to live on the river so we are able to paddle from the house but when we want the full adventure or have a group of friends with us we have Bethel Outdoor Adventure host the trip.

Depending on the time of year and the river flow the trip can be exciting or leisurely. I don't think there has been a trip where we didn't see at least one bald eagle, usually several. Moose sightings are a little more rare on mid-day trips but frequent on early morning or late afternoon paddles.

The 8 mile stretch can be covered in two hours by experienced paddlers maintaining a steady pace. Take your time, stop for a picnic on the many islands and you can spend 4 to 6 hours or more. With all the islands and side currents you can paddle the river several times and not see the same scenery. There are very few times when you will see evidence of human activity. Just a few houses and the occasional glimpse of a hillside road.

I'd describe this section of the river as a series of ponds connected by sections of faster water. There are a few sections that might challenge a novice paddler at high water but for most of the year it is a family friendly trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mine tour was awesome!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked ahead and went on the Bumpus mine tour. Our guide (Seabury) was so knowledgeable and made the tour fantastic. Our boys (13 and 11) also loved going back to the Outdoor Adventure sluice to sift through the buckets of materials. They would have been happy to spend the whole day there! Thanks for making the last stop on our trip a fantastic one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bethel Outdoor Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Bethel Outdoor Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing