We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to rest your head when in Bethel to ski.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant River Motel

Pleasant River Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pleasant River Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent place to rest your head when in Bethel to ski.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Paid $60 for a Friday night stay in late March so we could get an early start for Saturday skiing and avoid a 3 hour drive up in the morning.
This place is a typical New England roadside "motor lodge" that's gotta be 40 years old. The place is simple. Bed, bath, tube TV, heat. The room we had was very neat and clean. This is what you should expect in a place like this: an "old" place that is very well kept.
The proprietor was very friendly on the phone and in person.
Would stay here again in the same situation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackBronson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked this Motel because we were Staying at the Sunday River resort for the week but wanted to be up in the area for our check-in date as we live over three hours away. The price was definitely reasonable (I believe it was around $79 with tax). The owners were very nice and helpful. The room was pretty much what we expected however it was very clean, had a TV, heat, mini fridge, and a shower. What more could you want for the price. The beds were a little hard and the train is somewhere close by but that's the only downside worth mentioning. There are plenty of restaurants close by and when you check in ask them for some restaurant coupons. We got $5 off one restaurant and a free appetizer at another. The comment about the A/C plug being pad-locked is true though, lol. It was 15 degrees out so we weren't concerned with trying to keep cool. If you want to hit the slopes for the weekend and aren't too picky this place will work well for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This place is very inexpensive so don't expect fancy rooms, health club, or a hot tub. But if you are looking for a functional place that is convenient to Bethel attractions and right off Rte 2, then this is a good choice. They also have some pet-friendly rooms which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoho
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Never have been to a place where the air conditioner plugs are padlocked tp prevent guests from using. Beds were brutal.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the office because the end units are far from the hot water tank and it takes 5 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 2 weekends ago and are on our way back tomorrow for a quick mid-week ski. Beds were comfortable everything was clean and we just need a place to sleep while up north skiing.
Had a nice chat with Bob, the owner, he and his wife do all the cleaning and maintenance. It's not much for amenities, but the wi-fi worked well and they had an ice machine and soda machine, not sure what else since it was snowing and we wanted to get to the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Marissa-CapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
15.5 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
14.5 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
3.7 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant River Motel

Property: Pleasant River Motel
Address: 764 West Bethel Rd, Bethel, ME 04286
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 18 rooms with TV, refridgerator, microwave,wifi, ac, thermostat. New box springs and mattresses. All one level w/convienent parking. Close proximity to Sunday River skiing, resturants, hiking, fishing, and the White Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pleasant River Motel Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing