We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you like old buildings?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Do you like old buildings?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is one. Nice porch with chairs out front. Lovely staircase to second floor. We booked into one of the smaller ensuite rooms. It was nicely appointed, and though the bathroom was small, it was very functional. Pat and her morning help were pleasant hosts. We enjoyed tasty breakfasts both days we were there. My husband has to eat gluten-free, and they accomodated him easily. The breakfast room was nicely set, and we visited with many other guests, sharing our hiking plans/successes, as well as restaurant experiences which Pat had suggested. As I said, this is an old house. Yet, it was not noisy room to room or even in the hallways. Our room did get warm at night; there was no way to open a window for outside air. But that is about all I can say that was negative about our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    50
    16
    16
    19
See reviews for
50
131
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Embrun, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I booked this on "expedia.ca" with the hope that I was truly getting a 4 1/2 5 hotel/B&B...there was no one there when we arrived, but the son of the hostess arrived shortly thereafter, who graciously showed us our room and introduced us to the neighborhood...the hostess was very disorganized...proof is in her "office" a hole in the wall under the stairs...she charged us for a room already paid for...ignored our request for internet...which was non existent...even though advertised...the room was updated in the age of Queen Victoria...rusty pipes on the ceiling...when we asked for assistance at the breakfast table...which was well attended by her breakfast assistant...but ignored by the hostess...we were ignored,and finally found napkins on our own...
OK...we've been to many resorts and B&B's...and this one way waaaaay below others we've experinced

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
What the guest did not say is that this was one of the busiest evenings of the year.While waiting (approximately 5 minutes) they were able to eat homemade goodies in the lobby.
The wi fi was down for an hour or two so in the meantime I tried to help the couple as to where to eat. I personally called the Italian Restaurant nearby and requested this couple get a very desirous seat on their porch. by the time they got back the wi-fi was up and running.
The next morning the couple chose to sit at a table that had not been bussed yet instead of one that had. I do remember we were busy in the kitchen and she did nave to get up to get herself a napkin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We took a rest from our thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail at this beautiful inn. The inn keeper, Pat, went out of her way to take care of our every request, since we have only a short amount of time to do laundry, resupply our provisions, eat, and head out to the trail the next day. Our room was beautiful, the breakfast bountiful (important to thru-hikers), and Pat was charming. She even pointed us in the direction of a lovely pub for the evening, and we ended up having such a fun time! We would love to come back here someday!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at Victoria Inn got four nights and it was a lively experience. The inn keeper, Pat, was attentive to our needs and very personable. The breakfasts were varied and delicious.

The inn is on Bethel's main street and within walking distance to several restaurants and shops. Bethel is a great place to home base from for many fall foliage drives. There are also several walking and hiking opportunities near by. It was four days well spent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredteacher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in the Victoria Inn, Bethel during our tour of New England. We wished we could have stayed longer than the one night we had planned. We had a lovely warm welcome from Pat the innkeeper. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was an absolute delight (all home made). Such a wonderful building with tons of atmosphere and well maintained. Bethel is in a very beautiful part of Maine with lots to see and do in the area. We have absolutely no problem in recommending the Victoria Inn to any 'Brits' who are planning a visit to this part of the world. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

the victoria proved to be one of my more memorable stays. Beautiful place, lovingly restored, great rooms and NO GHOSTS! The breakfast we recieved each morning was first class and included with the room price! Bethel is a great place with tons to do! The Victoria inn is the place to stay! We will be back for sure! Thanks Pat and Susan!
-Matt and Olive

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falynveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Victoria Inn from 19th to 24th August this year. We were greeted with the warmth of not only hot coffee, but also the sincere welcome of the innkeeper, Patty.

With a large bed and bathroom, the room that we stayed in was exceptional, decorated to a very high standard with features representative of the Victorian era. This was so much better than staying at an identikit room of a hotel chain.

Patty is the secret ingredient of the Victoria Inn's success. She shares her extensive knowledge of hidden local gems, like the amazing vista at the top of Paradise Drive and the best place for lobster. There were home-baked cookies placed in the hall each day that we enjoyed as a lovely treat.

The breakfasts were hearty, fresh and tasty, including 'eggs any way you like' Everyone who stays should try the fluffy omelettes and gorgeous home-made granola.

Rather than confine herself to mere food and housekeeping, Patty's philosophy is that we are more her guests at a home away from home, not mere customers.

She could teach the big hotels a lot with that mindset!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheppied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.2 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: 32 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Inn is a bed and breakfast inn in Bethel, a charming and historic village located the western Maine mountains region. This historic 19th century inn, previously known as the Bethel Inn, has been lovingly restored with the decor and antiques of the romantic Victorian period. We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging accommodations including standard rooms, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as multi-room family suites with lofts. All rooms are decorated with Victorian period furnishings, and offer private baths, cable TV, and room phones with data ports. A delicious full cooked breakfast is included with all of our accommodations. The Victoria Inn is within a short walk to shopping, movie theaters, one of the two renowned local golf courses as well as to Gould Academy, and the National Training Laboratories facilities. Bethel offers a wealth of opportunities for activities including skiing and snowboarding, golfing, hiking, fishing, rafting, and more. Whether you are seeking an active holiday, a romantic getaway, a wedding or anniversary celebration, scenic touring, or a family vacation, plan on staying with us at The Victoria Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Bethel
The Victoria Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing