We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Winter New Year's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Cozy Winter New Year's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family enjoys staying at inns that preserve and maintain local architectural resources and The Victoria Inn in Bethel Maine is a good example. Once there we found many other aspects that we enjoyed, including great breakfasts in a choice of rooms on the ground floor, and a congenial staff. The owners also display original art in the impressionist style, and along with the collected furniture gives an authentic feeling to this 1895 large victorian "big house, little house, back house, barn" sited above the main street. We loved staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor_bill326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    50
    16
    16
    19
See reviews for
50
131
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Victoria Inn right before New Years this year with my parents. I found the reviews on TripAdvisor very helpful in choosing the Victoria Inn--the rooms are not the most up-to-date or fancy, but the overall inn is very comfortable and the hospitality, location, and value for the money made this a wonderful stay for us. Plus---the breakfast is above and beyond!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyllom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We just returned from a great stay at The Victoria Inn for few days between Chistmas and New Years. We were three families including 5 teenagers and were able to take a variety of rooms, allowing the teens to be together, and couples to stay in their own rooms. The inn is homey, clean and comfortable; the breakfasts were excellent, including great granola, and one or two hot dishes every morning. There were freshly baked cookies greeting us each day upon return from skiing at Sunday River, or other nearby winter activities, such as x-country skiing and snow shoeing in some beautiful countryside. Pat, the innkeeper was warm and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have nothing but the best to stay about our stay at the Victoria Inn. Our room was beautifully decorated like times past yet with all the modern amenities. The Innkeeper, Patty Thurston, was so nice and charming and absolutely wonderful with our son, she went out of her way to make sure our stay was exceptional and had great local recommendations. Breakfast was absolutely scumptious and gourmet. Would recommend this Inn to everyone. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had a large family room with a loft; upstairs and downstairs beds which was perfect for our famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithV107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Some of the rooms (including ours) are in need of a redecoration but they were redecorating the front room when we visited so I guess they are getting round to doing the place up. I'd say our room was adequate rather than luxurious. Having said that, this was the cheapest New England inn we visited for B&B and the quality of the breakfast was up with places which cost more than twice as much, We also paid a lot more for rooms which were equally 'tired'. The building itself is genuinely old and characterful

We turned up unannounced so it was reasonable that there was noone home. Fortunately there was plate of delicious homemade cookies by the door - so we took that as a positive sign and ate most of them while we waited for Pat. She was extremely helpful and talked us through all the local eating options.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSiddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the inn during the "down season". Pat, the owner, upgraded our room when we arrived since we were the only ones there! It was a big room with a private bath and jacuzzi tub. The inn was quiet and perfect for a night away. We woke up to breakfast in the dining room with fresh coffee and orange juice. She made us eggs, bacon and toast. It was a very lovely stay and would recommend to anyone couple who needs a night away!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

When we arrived at The Victoria we were greeted by Pat, who was an absolute delight! We asked her where to eat and she called and made reservations for us at this quaint Italian restaurant where the food is to die for, and in walking distance from The Victoria.
Breakfast was also a hit, she had an "egg pizza" is what we called it(amazing), freshly baked pumpkin bread, fresh fruit and yogurt. Our stay here was top notch and was the first stop on our trip which I compared everything to for the rest of the week and nothing beat it.
Keep up the great work Pat!!

Amelia Riche' and Marcus Wilder

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.2 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: 32 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Inn is a bed and breakfast inn in Bethel, a charming and historic village located the western Maine mountains region. This historic 19th century inn, previously known as the Bethel Inn, has been lovingly restored with the decor and antiques of the romantic Victorian period. We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging accommodations including standard rooms, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as multi-room family suites with lofts. All rooms are decorated with Victorian period furnishings, and offer private baths, cable TV, and room phones with data ports. A delicious full cooked breakfast is included with all of our accommodations. The Victoria Inn is within a short walk to shopping, movie theaters, one of the two renowned local golf courses as well as to Gould Academy, and the National Training Laboratories facilities. Bethel offers a wealth of opportunities for activities including skiing and snowboarding, golfing, hiking, fishing, rafting, and more. Whether you are seeking an active holiday, a romantic getaway, a wedding or anniversary celebration, scenic touring, or a family vacation, plan on staying with us at The Victoria Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Bethel
The Victoria Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing