We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Sud's Pub

Sud's Pub
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Bethel
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Suds Pub has been an icon in Bethel, Maine for over a quarter century, welcoming locals and visitors alike. Family friendly, unpretentious and great value for money. Open every day from 11.30 For lunch, dinner and late night, with live music Thursday (open mike night), Friday and Saturday nights. Specialties include our hugely popular pizza: a small one topping pizza is available in the pub on Tuesday nights for only $5. Bed and breakfast accommodation is also available in the Sudbury Inn directly upstairs.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I've been here several times and have always enjoyed myself. the food is good and the beer selection great!

Great little place tucked away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    67
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Suds”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The best place in town for family and friends to gather. Downstairs at the Sudbury Inn the menu and beer selection will keep everyone happy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisa i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise in the Cellar”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stumbled upon the Sud's Pub due to my friend's recollection of it on this very site. We were a bit skeptical on arrival, but we were quickly won over. The downstairs room is dark, but does exude positive energy. The bar is at chair level for guests and the bartender is on a sunken floor. Out bartender Lisa was an immediate hit. She added her wit without hesitation and played along with all of our out of town humor. There was a very ample draft beer selection and the menu has something for every taste and yearning. My BBQ grilled chicken panini was a featured special and was very good. My friend had a quesadilla that was loaded with gooesy cheese. We enjoyed talking with a few locals and of course Lisa. It was a very good 3 beer night after a day of golf at nearby Sunday River. We were easily able to make it back to our motel 3 miles away and wondered if staying at the Sudbury Inn the next time might be a great way to go the next time. Wherever we stay, we will certainly come back to Sud's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DT705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not as good as usual”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had lunch on a Thursday at Suds Pub. Usually a great place for lunch or dinner and conversation, this Thursdays visit was disappointing. The air conditioning was really cranked up so the place was freezing! We arrived at 1PM and sat at the bar where we were promptly served a glass of wine. However, it was so cold in the bar area we had to change our seats to a table farther to the back of the restaurant. We ordered a pizza and a Caesar salad ,usually a very good choice, however the salad was 'soggy' with wilted greens and the pizza, while tasty, was served 'warm.' Service, as always, was friendly.
I would certainly take a sweater or jacket with me next time I eat at the Suds,just in case. I will go back because the food and value is usually very good, so I'm hoping this was just a 'glitch' in an otherwise stellar record of good pub food in the Bethel area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Pub!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good Food, Drinks and Friendly People!
Beth is a hard worker and you will be lucky if she is your server or bartender!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jewel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sud's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sud's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing