We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chapman Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Auburn, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a Bed and Breakfast. The bed was fantastic, the breakfast was fantastic. Anything more is gravy, if you are looking for a great deal, head over to chapman's. If you are looking for a Hilton, I believe the closest one is about an hour away in auburn, but have fun paying more for less.

Room Tip: Bear in mind this B and B caters to all travelers, from those traveling groups with a hostel environ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    39
    9
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
70
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night mid-week and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Owner (Fred) was especially welcoming and made us, 2 adults, 2 kids, feel like family. Fred offered recommendations on the area - no disappointments. Fred's blueberry muffins are the best in the world according to my 10 year old daughter. I agree and think Fred is a talented chef. Chapman Inn was truly an enriching part of our recent road trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chapman Inn this June on our way back from a motorcycle ride across Canada. The location is great and the 'Special Rates for Bikers' sign that our host, Fred, had apparently just put up lured us in. Bethel has many heritage buildings and you kind of know what you are in for, old rooms, Antique furnishings, creaky sloping floors etc. don't let that put you off. The rooms are clean, everything works and Mike the Mouth, Fred's dog is a softie even if he barks at first. And the breakfast? Others have commented on it and Fred is not exaggerating. It simply was the best we encountered in a month on the road and over 7,000 miles travelled coast to coast in Canada and halfway back! Oh, and the location in town can't be beaten. We recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lzbdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The bed was comfy, the room was clean, and the bathroom stocked. Ok, fine. That should be expected, not a selling point. However, breakfast was heavenly. Each morning I was treated to a plate of fruit, home made white bread and banana bread, and had a choice of freshly prepared main courses. The omelets were the fluffiest things I'd ever seen, and the chef was happy to share some of his tricks along with interesting stories of his own world travels. Next time I come back through this way, this is the place I and my family will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I've stayed here as a couple on several occasions and with my sister in April 2013 for a get-away. We do a lot of traveling and she loved it. The Inn is old, but comfortable. There are a variety of rooms to chose from , some nicer than others. Keep in mind that this is a very popular ski B&B. Not fancy, but the living room fireplace can be cozy with a good book on a quiet day or night. The price is reasonable . You won't find the hearty, delicious breakfast & stay anywhere in town for the money. We've tried a few. All unique in this charming historic town. If you enjoy a good story, get another cup of that wonderful coffee and ask Fred about his many exotic travels...and the resident ghost stories( friendly I hear). The location is perfect for a good walk , many restaurants, the Bethel Inn Golf course & entertainment on weekends, bike ride, river canoeing/kyaking ,Adventure Center my son grew up enjoying...fun outdoor areas to explore like Grafton State Park for hiking and moose hunting.We spend our time in Bethel in the Spring, Summer, & Fall. Great year round get-away, & I mean from it all!

Room Tip: Check the site for all the choices. Let Fred and Sandra know what your needs are for the right fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at the Chapman! Gracious innkeepers and a hearty breakfast, all at reasonable rates. I cannot wait to come back! The French toast and custom roasted coffee will start any day off right!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faeriesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed over parrothead weekend and was exactly what we were looking for. The innkeepers are incredibly friendly, great character and the price cannot be beat anywhere in the area, especially with the phenomenal breakfast included. So good, I came back up by myself two weekends later for sunday river's closing weekend and asked to stay in the dorm. Understandably so, the dorm was closed for the season cause did not make economical sense to heat entire place so offered me a great deal for my own room and private bathroom. The breakfast is really what makes it and all included. All meals are made to order with some of the best french toast I have ever had and delicious homemade blueberry muffins. Definitely would recommend it. Great stays both times and I will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Property: Chapman Inn
Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing